Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 March 2012
Lovely updates of 23 antique quilts in the Victoria & Albert Museum. I loved the clamshell quilt, reproduced in squares of Fassett's own vibrant fabrics; also the muted 19th century stars quilt reproduced in 'Persian blue richness' of cobalt and turquoise. It's amazing how patchwork that doesnt look very special when made in the dull shades of a hundred years ago can look so incredible in today's colour palette.
review image review image review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2008
Kaffe Fassett is one of those rare people who just seems to have a 'perfect eye'; kind of like those musicians who have perfect pitch. Whether he is designing knitting patterns, fabrics, china, wallpaper or quilts, he seems to get it right.

In this sumptuously illustrated book he takes some of the rare 18th and 19th century quilts that are on display at the V&A and adds his own contemporary twist. There are instructions for all the quilts and 2 cushions and a section of basic patchwork and quilting instructions at the back. But I would say that this is NOT a book for the beginner. The designs themselves can be overwhelming in scale and vibrance and the instruction section is interesting but constrained by space. Kaffe, understandably, uses his own fabrics, predominantly, and it may take a little courage to move away from his plans to create your own design.

This is not, however, a book for JUST quilters. It would be a useful volume for anyone studying art, design, textiles, art history or decorative arts. It is not expensive given the large number of full and double page illustrations and would be a superb and welcome gift.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2009
What an inpirational book ! He is so gifted it's untrue ! This book makes what seems impossible really attainable due to the numerous templates and easy to follow instructions . If you love patchworking you will treasure this book.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2012
I have been a fan of Kaffe Fassett's work for a long time. I had had this book from the library before, and remembered one or two of the quilts in it, so recently when looking for a project to start, I ordered my own copy.
I recommend this book to anyone who loves quilting, especially if they want to make either a classy gift/heirloom piece!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2009
What an insperational book, this artist is truely exceptional. The choice of projects is endless.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2011
Kaffe Fassett is my quilting hero! This book is so beautiful and it is really interesting to see the inspiration quilts updated with Fassett's very modern prints. The instructions seem good and the patterns are exciting without being overly difficult. This is my favourite Fassett quilting book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
This is a lovely book with many beautiful pictures. Having seen many of these quilts in reality I was pleased to see the colours represented so accurately. It was a gift for my mum, and she was very pleased with it. It has templates and instructions for the quilts shown and she is looking forwards to trying them out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
These are absolutely beautiful. The original quilts that gave the inspiration are shown in clear photos, so you really have a choice of making one or the other, if you are good at drawing up quilts from photographs. Most of the quilts are suitable for beginners and the experienced alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
A beautiful book - I can't believe it was published in 2005, it still looks absolutely modern and fresh. Good to see several very simple but effective designs which will not take forever to complete. A must-have if you enjoy Kaffe or quilting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
This is a very interesting book and well presented with lovely photographs. I won't be making any of the quilts however as the fabrics required are very expensive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)