Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



HALL OF FAMETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 25 July 2012
The Science of the Discworld III is another highly readable book from Pratchett, Stewart and Cohen that uses the interaction between the Discworld and the Wizards accidental `roundworld' universe to teach some interesting ideas about evolution.

The story is set on the Discworld. The Wizards of Unseen University have accidentally created a universe. But this is a universe without magic, where worlds are spherical rather than discs. They set about observing this universe from its creation through to the formation of life. This time around the Wizards are interested in evolution, and the ideas of a certain C. Darwin.

Each chapter of the entertaining and usually hilarious Discworld story from Pratchett alternates with a chapter of real science from Stewart and Cohen (both great communicators with wry senses of humour) which explains in our terms what just happened in the Discworld story.

It's well written, easy to follow, introduced me to many scientific concepts that I did not know about previously, and is probably the most educational book I have ever read. So many of the ideas and explanations were firmly lodged in my mind after reading this, many more than remain from my student days, when I was supposed to be studying this kind of thing! (But which I didn't really study too hard because I spent most of my time reading Terry Pratchett books...)

The one niggle here is that it doesn't flow quite as well as the previous two book. This feels like a set of essays strung together rather than a uniform piece, and Pratchett's Discworld short story never quite seems to catch fire. But it's a minor point, it is only compared to previous books that this feels a little weak, it is still a strong and educational read in it's own right.

It's an excellent book, one that I recommend. 4 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2017
I do love the Discworld series so have bought a few of the add on stuff including the first two Science Of... books which were great and this third is no exception. Cleverly written, highly engaging and really interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2013
I bought this book because Terry Pratchett always entertains while at the same time skewing my worldview causing me to awaken to ridiculous assumptions and, usually therefore, discarding them. The fact that Ian Stewart and Jack Cohen are absolute geniuses is a bonus. It should be mandatory reading in all schools.
If I had friends, relatives or even acquaintances intelligent enough to appreciate this book, I would certainly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 September 2013
You need to be a real Pratchett fan to persist with this one. The Discworld ''short'' story alternates with the science chapters by the co-authors. Each successive science chapter seems to get longer and longer as well as more complex with some pretty heavy science concepts included. These need careful reading even for someone with some science background but would probably lose anyone without. and the link with Terry's Discworld story gets a bit lost at times as the co-authors get into their stride. Because of the science input, the book ( hardback) is large though Terry's Discworld story is basically short but entertaining non the less.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 April 2016
A light hearted mixture of fiction and science fact. If anyone wanted to learn some factual science but was frightened of being bored, or thinks it is too hard, then read these books. You would not be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2014
As with the other SoD books, Darwin's Watch alternates chapters by Pratchett set on the Discworld where a set of very confused wizards (is there another type?) try to figure out what's going on in the Round World they've accidentally created, with chapters explaining the science behind it written by professors Cohen & Stewart. As you can probably deduce from the title, the primary theme is that of evolution and how our views of it have changed over the years but also how science and the "scientific method" work in general.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2015
Lots of fun AND educational. Learn lots about the Universe while you get Terry Pratchett's magical humour. Can't fault it. (Isn't it irritating that the spell checker on this thing uses American spelling)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2018
Excellent value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2017
Great science with Terry's humour. Will read it again in a couple of year's time to see if I understand a bit more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2018
OK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse