Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 3 August 2016
After reading 'Forgotten Voices of the Holocaust' I looked round for companion volumes, but this is such a wider subject (the biggest human upheaval on the planet ever) that in so few pages it doesn't have the space to be so powerful. However, the selection of memories gives a poignant insight into events which I hadn't known of. Reading the account by a survivor of HMS Hood I was puzzled by his thinking in metric measurement. In the navy in 1941? I suspect the text might have been tinkered with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 15 October 2013
This book, like the others in the series, consists of first-party recollections by people who witnessed and participated in the events covered. The accounts vary in length between a few lines and several pages, and the contributors include a wide range of military ranks (as well as a few civilians). The voices of the lower ranks are particularly interesting, as such veterans did not, in general, write full-length memoirs as many officers did.

The book can either be read from beginning to end, or dipped into. I did the former, to benefit from the chronological order. Either way, anyone interested in military history should find it an enthralling read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 January 2014
I actually got this for my other half who is into History, I like history but this book is great for the both of us. It really does capture what it was like for our grandparents/great relations that were in the war. It has different perspectives from a diverse range of people like soldiers, German/English school children etc. Easy to pick up and put down again with short detailed interviews with each person in a variety of situations. A great book and good educational tool no doubt. I had the first world war book and hadn't had it a week before ordering this one! Go for it. makes great gift or personal read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2011
Another very good read from the FORGOTTEN VOICES series.
The book uses interviews taken from the IWM sound archive to tell the peoples stories of their experiences in WW2.
It charts the war from 1939-45 using accounts from soldiers, sailors, airmen, children, civilians, from the outbreak of war thru to VJ day.
It includes accounts of evacuation, the phoney war, Dunkirk, Battle of Britain, Burma, Western Desert, Arnhem, the Atomic bomb etc.
A marvellous insight into WW2 from a personal perspective.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 December 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 July 2016
Compelling and fascinating read. Sometimes amusing. Also heartbreaking to read of grave injustices of conscripts, most too young to understand the insanity of how stupid and expensive wars are!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2014
A book everybody should read, I am old and remember the events but it should be read by the young and not so young too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 October 2012
Book arrived in good time and in good order. My husband has just finished reading it and thoroughly enjoyed it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 November 2016
Great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2014
Gives us an insight to an era that ordinary men and women suffered for our country in wartime. Recommend to all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)