Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 May 2017
Second-hand book in very good condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2014
I'm so glad I came across this book. It stands pride of place in my cookbook shelf and is a joy to use.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
good book, good packing, great delays! the ideal book for a quick mediteranean dinner, simple, original & great effect on the guests!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2014
brilliant
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2003
this is not the sort of cookbook I would normally buy, being rather an unconfident, though enthusiastic, cook who normally relies heavily on Nigel and Nigella, bless them.
My sister recommended it, though, and I am now completely sold on it. I have cooked several delicious dishes, all really easy and uncomplicated. The fish tagine, for example, is an amazing 'bung it all in and retire' recipe, which tastes wonderful.
Although there are ingredients in some dishes that it would be difficult to get hold of,these are in the minority compared to things such as smoked paprika, chestnuts etc, that are easy to find, but which have transformed my cooking.
For me, finding this book was as inspiring as discovering proper Italian food ten years ago - the same simplicity, delicious ( though obviously different) flavours and homely, completely unpretentious style.
0Comment| 73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2003
First this book isn't one of those books crammed with glossy photographs of scenery. Though well designed and illustrated this is a book of recipes, leaving off only to explain simply and clearly regional ingredients or techniques.
Second, these recipes are beautifully simple to follow - and so far, despite being an inexperienced cook, I've yet to find a dud. Thanks to Moro I am now allowed to be alone and unsupervised by my wife in the kitchen! Most guests have rushed out to buy the book or note a recipe. Although this is a 'celebrity' cook book in that the writers have a high profile London restaurant, it couldn't be further away from the over-fussy, over clever recipes so often found. True, some of the ingredients can be a little hard to find, but the authors have provided a very helpful glossary of UK suppliers for these. In my case a recent weekend in Barcelona had me spending a small fortune in the local deli shops!
The best thing I can say about this book is that it worked wonders for me and I now feel confident and able to experiment in the kitchen.Thanks Moro!
0Comment| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2015
Everything as expected, Excellent choice, great purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"Moro: The Cookbook" by Sam Clark is cooking guide for meals that are combination of Spanish and Muslim kitchen, that originate from the time when Spain was occupied by Moors, the Muslims who came across the Mediterranean.

Inside, the reader won't only find lot of unknown recipes that mix Spanish, North African and Eastern Mediterranean kitchen but will also learn some culinary facts about these less known cultures.

This book can be especially recommended to people who have some dietary restrictions considering lactose or meat, because inside you'll find number of great vegetarian recipes.
And although the meals are mostly unknown for Western people, they are made more or less from the easily available ingredients, while some exotic are optional, though they raise each dish step higher making it more original and authentic.

So far, I tried the Falafel, traditional Arab food, something I saw many times while traveling but never tried it.
It's made from chickpeas and fava, and it's very delicious.

The only drawback for some will be that although the presented meals are not hard to cook, they will require some additional time to prepare then usually needed, given its diversity from what we are used for.

But if you give it a try you certainly won't regret, it will be well worth your effort.

"Moro: The Cookbook" is good cookbook to have near you, something a bit exotic but still fairly easy to prepare and due to that I can fully recommend it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2014
Convoluted. Get Jamie oliver
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 September 2002
This book is an absolute joy - obviously Sam & Sam really love their food; using all natural ingredients, (but not to the extremes of Crank's) they re-create the recipes they found during a 3-month trip round Spain, Morocco and Algeria, prior to setting up their 'Moro' restaurant in the UK.
They bake their own sourdough bread every day, using their own sourdough yeast, make their own yogurt and somehow find ingredients that most of us have never heard of (but they give a comprehensive list of suppliers at the back).
The recipes are simply described, with lots of practical advice and little anecdotes about their discovery of the recipes in tiny restaurants - for example, queuing up outside a hole in the wall that only sold lentil soup! But what a soup!
Think Spain - think paella (usually a hotch-potch of rice and everything thrown in to produce a gluey mass) - but this book resets that impression with a series of recipes that are light, tasty, unusual and definitely NOT stodgy!
Beautifully illustrated and lovingly written, you really feel the atmosphere of the Spanish/Muslim cookery surrounding you as you get drawn, drooling, into this gorgeous book.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£16.59
£20.67
£18.36
£15.24

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)