Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 November 2014
Very interesting read. Enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2009
Goes no where fast, cardboard characters, Kitch scenes and comic book plot make this one to miss. Very disappointing Mr Faulks.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 September 2011
This is the second disappointing Faulks novel I've read. He seemed to go off the boil with green Dolphin Street, worse with Engleby (who really cares about middle aged men's midlife crises? not even middle aged men. alas it plodded on relentlessly) and he's sunk further with this. Annoyingly reminiscent of Saturday by Ian McEwan (which worked better) he's also got an instant expert's desire to share his new found knowledge in Hedge Funds and Financial Instruments. Does his publisher not employ subs? It went on and on and on (as did McEwan's showing off on neurology). And every character has some stereotypical flaw. the hedge fund wife's a lonely lush. The Hedge Funder is brash, vulgar, lacks and kind of hinterland and is superstitiously reliant on soft porn. The Bradford lime pickle magnate is anxious about being underliterate and entertains a cartoonish obsequiousness for the royal family. All plausible. All a bit too easy. It's all a bit characters off a shelf. and the unlit pavement riding cyclist - what was he for? And why oh why could not a single charcter simply switch their PC/ipod/TV on? No they all had to be "fired up". (I counted six fired ups then lost patience.) It was just sufficiently compelling that i wanted to know how he tied up the ends, but only just.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2010
Bought this for my husband as he has read several books by this author however he is about halfway through the book and is still waiting for it to get going.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2011
This is the eighth and most recent novel that Sebastian Faulks has had published and differs from his normal style as it is the first one set totally in the present day. It is therefore impossible I feel to praise or criticise in comparison to his other novels. It stands alone as a contemporary novel from this diverse author of literary fiction and is a very interesting study on modern day life. Themes we have all been affected by in recent years terrorism, banking and greed.
Set in London,over a period of just the seven days in the week before Christmas, following the lives of seven protagonists. What a motley collection of characters they are a hedge fund manager, a Polish professional footballer, a young lawyer, a student, a journalist book-reviewer, a schoolboy and a Tube train driver. The latter whose Circle Line train joins these characters lives together. The novel is a complex study of modern urban life and the reader is able to see the effects of society on these characters long before they can.
In the end though they are all forced to accept the reality of the world we live in.

A Week In December is both a humorous and frighteningly realistic portrayal of the modern day world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2010
I liked the book but sometimes it is hard to follow the all the banking dealings. However the author did make the main characters come alive.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2011
It took me a while to get into Faulks' latest - it's an ambitious, sprawling book in terms of the number of characters and their various stories. But the more I read, the more engrossed I became. Set the week before Christmas, the device for bringing together the disparate people who push at the seams of this novel is a dinner party to be thrown by the wife of a new MP. Yet it's far bigger than this in scope, managing to take within its wide grasp everything from fundamentalist Islam to the banking crisis, with helpings of schizophrenia, drug abuse, literary criticism and premiership football thrown in along the way. There is much to sink your teeth into, but the leitmotif of 'A Week in December' is provided by John Veals, an ingeniously crafted banker who Faulks uses to represent all that's wrong with the financial world today. If at first it doesn't hook you, persevere, because once Faulks has reeled you in with his roving imagination and his precisely turned prose, you won't want to be let off the hook.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2011
This was bought for me as a Christmas present and turned out to be a wonderful surprise. It was totally different to previous Sebastian Faulks novels I had read. I have to confess to hating Charlotte Gray so much that I abandoned the book just over halfway through, and stuck with, but mightily disliked, Birdsong.I found Faulks style hard to read although I admit that is personal taste and couldn't have cared less about his characters. However, I was hooked from the first few pages with this book and totally involved with all the characters. This is not a fast action book and all the better for it. There is contrivance in places but it doesn't detract from the story and the contrast between the intended terrorist and the 'real' terrorist i.e. the hedge fund manager is well drawn.I laughed out loud in places and slowed down my reading because I didn't want to finish the book too soon. Also I intend to re-read it very soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2010
I enjoyed this book, as I do all Sebastian Faulks since being hooked by "Birdsong". The plot was less original than usual. I felt this probably because I had just finished Ben Elton's "Meltdown" which orients around the same Financial Crisis backdrop, though with a humouristic viewpoint. The terrorist part seemed inspired by Gerald Seymour but overall the tying together of these different characters over a short timescale was fun.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2011
I do recognise that the story is not smoothly, seamlessly executed. But the characters were credible to me and, what's more important, I cared for them- well, some of them anyway; others I got to detest, which is good reading too.
I couldn't put it down. It was really funny, in a satirical, very British sort of way. I loved the language, the richness of the descriptions and the dialogue.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£6.58

Need customer service? Click here