Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 August 2012
This title was suggested to me by the main contractor working on our period property refurbishment as an excellent primer on building design and materials.

I would suggest there are actually two main uses for this book. Firstly as a reference and easy access data book - checking weights, loadings, sizes etc - which as listed in other reviews is ideal for a professional engaged in construction. The data is of course not exhaustive as it is constrained to pocket book size, but it hits an excellent balance between summary and detail. This is an excellent reflection on the author's ability to precis information.

Secondly - and where it is most useful for me as a self builder rather than building pro, especially when engaged on a project not supported by an architect - it gives a basic understanding of a wide range of issues. For example, there is a straightforward summary of foundation types, generic benefits of different insulation materials etc which have all helped me either to refine specifications or to judge that I need to go and research further elsewhere. There is also a great deal here to save you trial and error - the spacing needed around cars when designing a garage block, circulation space within bathrooms etc etc. Even if, as a self builder, you are using the services of an architect I would still recommend this as background reading.

From the self build perspective I would suggest this goes on to your shelf alongside a copy of Mark Brinkley's book Housebuilder's Bible (ninth edition) (9th Edition) which complements this nicely, adding detail to some of the pocket book's introduction to subjects and also invaluable advice on controlling costs.

Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2016
Brought this for my husband and he loves it and uses it all the time
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
Exactly as described arrived in good time was well packaged and will purchase again in the future
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2017
Great book I still use it 5 Years later !!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2008
Received the book yesterday and my husband (who's an architect), hasn't been able to put it down. He thinks it's brilliant, informative and concise, he's using it now for work he's doing. Would recommend it to any student or Architect who needs reference in an easy to read format.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
Good quality, useful book for basic measurements.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2016
A necessity to any designer money well spent
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2011
This book has been a constant desk fellow of mine throughout my architectural education and work in practice.

Inside is a well considered series of chapters documenting the day to day considerations when working in the construction industry. As a quick reference supplement to my working this title has been invaluable. The problem with any architectural resource is that the industry is constantly in motion and information is constantly updated.

It is a constant battle to try and keep up with the most recent changes to policy and regulation. Which is why i point out that this book is a supplementary guide and not a bible. It does not cover a lot of the specialisms that are encountered in regard to modern day construction. That said, the portability, detailed diagrams and extensive references make this book stand out amongst similar titles.

Having long owned a copy of the previous edition, the revised edition of the Architects Pocket book doesn't seem to contain a significant change in content. As the previous review points out, there appears to be only 5 extra pages. Therefore if you already own a copy of the 3rd, i wouldn't see the absolute need in purchasing this new edition, provided you are pragmatic about the information inside.

But for anyone new to the subject or thinking of finding a suitable quick reference, then here undoubtedly is your place to start.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2011
For basically any design course, this book is needed! Its brilliant, every page has something you will certainly need. This book is priceless!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
Very useful ! Great book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)