Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 March 2008
Overall this is a good all-round, evidence based resource to use whilst studying or if newly qualified: that covers all the main aspects of respiratory and cardiac physiotherapy. It is a great place to start when writing case studies in this field.

This book is structured in the familiar style that we have come to know Elsevier for: a logical and clear design, that is well-laid out with the text presented in a variety of formats and supported with photographs, drawings and diagrams. There is a good selection of images for example: x-rays showing different conditions which, for the inexperienced eye, gives some exposure to what might you see when on placement or when qualified. The book is evidence based and provides a good selection of references, which have been updated since the last edition.

There is a chapter on common problems encountered, management and outcome measures which is useful for the novice. And case studies have been used in the book; but it is a shame there are not more, as these are a good vehicle to demonstrate how theory is applied in practice.

The sections covering surgery, again provide good information for the student: particularly things like commonly used drugs and side effects, terminology and common procedures that are likely to be encountered.

Also, the information through the book on the application of various topics to paediatrics is of help, due to the very different nature of physiotherapy for children.

Finally, there are a number of handy images stored online that can be used in your presentations but perhaps this facility would have been better with a few more resources available, such as quizzes or tests to assess knowledge.

Conclusion: A good evidence-based resource that delivers the subject matter well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2010
This book has been very helpful for my past two years studying undergraduate respiratory physiotherapy. The text covers all key areas and beyond with clinical specialities in paediatrics and intensive care this book will support all undergraduate students adequately through their training.

One bonus of the text is that all the chapters are supported with current literature giving evidence for why and how we should practice, something that is invaluable when it comes to writing essays and revising from exams.

A "must have" for students with an interest in cardio-respiratory physiotherapy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2008
I found this text book useful, informative and a great aid to my first practice placement. The information dealing with paediatrics was fantastic and as I say helped enormously with my clinical placement in paediatric rehab. Paediatrics isn't covered in the modules on the degree, so I felt quite under-prepared for it, but this book got me through and I realised that the theories and principles instilled on the course can be utilised in this area. The lay out of the text feels familiar and the case studies and diagrams/pictures are clear and well placed. I found the tables very useful especially those giving normal values relating to heart rate, respiratory rate and blood pressure. The reference lists at the end of each chapter give extensive scope for further reading in areas of interest. If any thing I would like to suggest more more more case studies they really help put theory into every day context! I would recommend this book to all 2nd years especially when coming up to the vivas!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2008
As a 1st year physiotherapy student, I've been able to use this book to understand the pathophysiology of cardiorespiratory problems as well as their clinical management. It's also well structured, beginning with the assessment of a cardiorespiratory patient and covering assessment tests and techniques and their interpretation. I also like that it has separate sections for paediatrics and adults and also has a good overview of types of surgery.

I feel that this book is not only useful to me now but will be essential when I go on placement, as a reference to clarify and build on my day to day learning. I would recommend this text to anyone looking for a good overall cardiorespiratory text.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
My daughter recommends this book for all those going into Physiotherapy! This was another book that was on her reading list from her uni. She Reliably informs me that it is excellent. Highly recommended A******
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2012
Absolutely wonderful material and well priced.
A must for anyone who's studying to become a physiotherapist.
Just what my daughter needed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2016
It was on our reading list and we have it electronically in the uni library but i like a hard copy. held off buying it for a whole semester to try and get with the times but regretting that now. Only owned it a few weeks and have already delved in for a few answers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2008
This book is a must have for respiratory learning as it is clear and concise and contains both adults and paediatric care. The clear diagrams make it easier to learn and the chapters cover core subjects for example assessments, techniques, paediatrics, ventilation and many more. Throughout the authors have made small summary physio points which will be useful when revising for a particular topic. The authors have also used flow charts and pictures to put across some of the information which is very useful for visual learners. I would very much recommend this book as it contains all of the information needed for respiratory at university and during your career.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2015
Great value for money and prompt delivery from the seller
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2015
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)