Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 November 2014
Concise and straight to the point with a good flow. Apart from one little mistake referring to portfolio set B instead of A in figure 8.4 onthe mean variance efficient portfolio. I have enjoyed this book so far. Mind you, I've read up to Chapter 11.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2017
I ordered 4 of these because a friend of mine recommended it to me for university. He said that the books come as new. I had high hopes and I wasn't disappointed. Perfect state and it is preserved wonderfully. Why buy a new one and pay a ridiculous amount of money when you can get a not even used one and pay a bargain?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
Important to finish the course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2017
As described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
Thank you. Fast delivery. Good Quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2017
Nice packaging, came new, as listed in the description
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2015
There was a ragged piece, sticked with tape. For these money my friends found better books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2008
I just read the book - cover to cover. It is very comprehensive and readable however I have a few gripes:

1. It reads like a book that has "evolved" and is somewhat "lumpy". Some bits are bang up-to-date - others are not; some bits are international some are very US domestic focussed; some bits are amazingly simple (does anyone not know what a direct debit is?) others are highly complex (efficient frontiers and linear programming).

2. The authors should acknowledge that not all CFOs are female and to use "she" in place of "he" whenever they refer to senior decision-makers in fictional companies is both unnecessary and patronising. Feminists will tell you, you've got this wrong - you could easily have used more neutral language (instead of he or she use "they" for example).

3. "Forecasted" is a very clumsy word (on almost every page) - doesn't everyone just say "forecast"?

4. Text refers to "blue lines" on the graphs which are always "black lines" - by the 9th edition you'd think you could have sorted that out!

More technically specific gripes:
1. I believe there are occasions when it makes sense to exercise American options early if you can't short the stock (eg US government has just banned short selling in financial stocks).
2. p649 high yield spreads declined as investors "scurried to the safe haven of high-quality debt" - forgive me but I for one can't work that out!
3. p 788 IOSC is the wrong acronmy for IOSCO (typo?).
4. Swaps are poorly explained. They derived from the arbitrages between international bond markets - which explains how they are structured.
5. The book refers only to the interest calculation basis of actual/360 which is only used in US. It is confusing to only mention this basis and not go on to refer to 30/360 (bond basis) or actual/365 as used in most international markets. In fact, there is a whole section on cash amangement that needs to be reviewed, in my opinion, to make it international and fit with the rest of the book.

Overall, I think it is a good textbook and sound primer - but someone needs a re-edit to freshen it up. The good news is that the Credit Cruch provides that opportunity to take a fresh look at the whole thing and highlight liquidity issues!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2012
Overall the book is pretty good, the only problem is that it is a bit chaotic, and first of all assumes that reader is acquainted with some basic concepts (or at least have read Fundamentals of Corporate Finance). I would rate it higher but I also bought Corporate Finance by Hiller, Ross and others, 9780077121150, which I must say is much better, it seems simpler but everything is well presented and explained.

Reading Principles I was a bit confused and couldn't follow it very easily. Overall content of the book is really great but the way they explain concepts could be improved.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)