Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 17 June 2014
I bought this for my daughter who is doing marketing degree module. She has found it helpful in researching the basic principles of marketing but prefers the Philip Kotler marketing text book to this one.
All the basics are here and described well but overall the Kotler text book does a better job in her opinion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 July 2002
A great reference for anyone studying Marketing. Well written with plenty of small case studies and questions to reinforce the learning. The CD has some useful tools too, including a marketing plan template that is useful for study and work.
Easy to read, well structured and puts in to english that which some of the subject's other writers (such as Kotler) have written rather confusingly.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2001
For students of marketing the Jobber 3rd edition is a valuable reference book containing plenty of case studies and study questions. The layout is clear and easy to follow, with a good selection of marketing models and graphs. All of the principal areas of marketing are covered. The section of services marketing is very useful, traditional marketing books have often under valued this area of marketing. The book comes with a CD ROM and a web site with excellent student and lecturer support. Each chapter has a set of on-line questions, which means revision can take place anywhere one can access a PC and the Internet. A very useful package.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2003
I purchased this book to assist me with my studies aa part of an MBA course, I am a mature student returning to study and have some years of experience in an administration capacity and some knowledge of the subject.
I have found the book easy to read with a variety of material to assist and links into other topics which I am studying. It appears to have been written by someone who understands the student needs. It is well researched and is not a pure academics book, the cases are based in real life and this enables the reader to relate it to their own knowledge and experience.
The depth of material covered and the CD Rom supplied together with the on line assistance makes it extremely useful for part time students who are also working.
The format of the material is broken down into managable sections and the excellent variety created by the prolific use of diagrams, colour, real advertisements, and stories make it easy to read. This is not always possible to achieve with study material.
The book can be considered as a definative text covering the whole subject of Marketing for both students and academics. I found some parts simplistic at times to mature students such as myself but as a new starter to the subject it is invaluable.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 January 2014
Very helpful for my marketing module as part of my business studies course. Latest edition so up to date and relevant to modern soceity which is what I wanted. Fast delivery as well which was a plus!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2013
I have Read both sixth edition and have purchased the 7th edition.

Benefits of the 7th:

Mentions "small paragraphs" in regards to digital Marketing.
Most Up to Date book published.

Disadvantages

Some Chapters of the book never seems to finish! you get bored of reading so much "literally" plus there is repetition of things you have read in other chapters.

"Smaller font" then 6th edition so harder to read, takes time getting used to.
Less diagrams and only 2 main color used through out the book "purple and green"
Paper feels very thin and cheap and your finger prints remains on the paper which in annoying.

Overall, The book is OK but could have been much better for example shorter "to the point" chapters.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2009
It is easy to understand and contains good case examples. However, in my opinion it lacks depth (e.g. in terms of recent research done, alternative views on common theories etc.). Moreover, the chapter summary is rather long and does not provide a coherent finish that puts everything into a concluding context. Furthermore, it does not provide a recommeded further reading part, which is common to many textbooks and of great help for in-depth research on specific topic areas.

I therefore recommend the Kotler + Keller 'Marketing Management' book as a superior alternative, or any similar books by the same authors who generally are big names in the marketing field.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2013
A great and interesting book. Bought it for my course, but it was really insightful and just nicely written. In comparison with other business textbooks this one is good even for non-students! I will treasure it always and go back for case studies etc
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2015
Purchased this book as it was recommend by my university lecturers/teachers to do so. There's a lot of info in this book heavily detailed too, good use diagrams, helpful glossary But with all this being said the book has a major flaw with its chapters. They seem to go on forever to the point where what your reading becomes so dull. Too much info for explanations that should be kept short and simple. Many chapter could have would make got straight to the point and then it would make it easier to learn from the book. Only other problem with this book is the price. Only 2 months after i bought its suddenly worth no more than 28 pounds which is annoying as i had to pay 42. For a book that can be so dull at times & only useful for 1 of my modules it sure does feel like a rip off. Not a book for quick revision but long term revision, from now on i will go back to shorter revision guides.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2013
Very good book and in a very good condition. Its covers all aspects of marketing management - but its not Kotler...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse