Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
13
3.4 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 March 2015
This is the worst book I have bought in the last ten years. The authors mentioned many topics without deep description and analysis. I absolutely agreed with the other customer about the 10A comments. Indeed, I can find more useful details from Wikipedia than it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
Very interesting book, for anybody studying Corporate Finance. I recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2015
Good book, good price, thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
Another "nice and easy" Mc GrawHill text book. very useful to get a good understanding of finance on a reasonable level.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2015
why this book is black and white?I doubt this is a pirated book....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2017
The book is relevant for four financial aspects: real investments, financing the firm, financial policy and hedging risks. The first part is about raising capital during the debt and equity. These chapters are the principles of the market. What is an IPO, bond and stock market? It is about the principles of these markets.
Part two is the basic of modern finance, APT, CAPM, factor models and options. Part three consists of the application of the CAPM and the option theory to real investments. This is the best part of the book. Real options are the modern form and it is represented in the best way. I never see it better before. Part four is about capital structure, dividend policy and the bankruptcy cost. Mergers and acquisitions are followed in the next chapter. The risk management chapter is about hedging of the international firm and how it corresponds with corporate strategy. It is the book for beginners. It shows a modern form of finance, compared to the book by Copeland and Weston. The theoretical parts are better in the book by Copeland and Weston.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
It's definitely not the best book for financial markets and corporate finance. I study Master of FInance & Investment and this is the book a university came up with?! Plus, if you need end-chapter questions solutions manual, you can not find them anywhere. it really pisses my off.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2000
This book is recommended as part of a course in Finance at the LSE which is why I got it (Amazon being the only place I could find it). It has some good parts and explains concepts quite well but seems to lack a more intuitive approach that seems detached from the real world (such is the nature of Academia I guess!). It can be quite wordy and occasionally uses mathematical parts that seem to be there for the sake of it. Having said that, there are some useful examples. My biggest problem is that graphs are occasionally removed from their explanations so you can get all confused looking at the wrong figure. However, the best thing about this book is that, at the end of each chapter there are the key points. So if you're lazy like me, you don't need read all the useless bits but instead find what you're looking for at the end and then refer back to relevant bit (which is marked clearly in the chapter) if you want more explanation. Quite a good book on the whole but not exactly bed time reading, I recommend it if you want to pass a more advanced undergraduate exam and actually know what you're talking about
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
I am pretty satisfied. It is a clean and new book. There is no sign inside the book.
Thank you very much!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2001
This book is for advanced students who already have some knowledge or experience in finance. Beginners will find it an effort to understand it.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse