Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 14 March 2006
Having read this book it made me realise how easy it can be to leave holes behind. If you are thinking of becoming a network security administrator or a security consultant this book will definitely enhance your knowledge.
The good thing about this book is that not only does it tell you how to exploit a security hole but also how to close it to avoid the intrusion in the first place. Get this book, it is well worth it
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2017
Probably a bit too much out of date - old book with a lot of information
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2015
Superb
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 1999
This book is a must for system administrators. I've been studying Unix security for many years, and the authors of this book know what they are talking about! It is easy reading, but goes down to sufficient level of detail to give you a complete understanding (or points you to the appropriate URL)
It contains detail on scanning and securing:
* Windows 95/98
* Windows NT
* Novel Netware
* UNIX
* Dial Up lines
* Routers
* Firewalls
* Web Servers
The only complaint I have about the book is that it does not come with a CD containing all the tools referenced. Yes, they are available from the book's FTP site, but I distrust any programs downloaded from the Net, and the book does not warn the reader about how to treat downloaded programs.
Nevertheless, I cannot recommend this book highly enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2000
If your a newbie in the world of computer security and fed up with trying to find answers on the internet then this is a definate book to read. It introduces the aspects concerned with all kinds of security and will improve your understanding of the subject.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 September 2009
Despite this edition being fairly old now, I still refer to it quite frequently. If you're already working in a security related field, you will most likely be aware of the majority of the tools the author discusses, but the organized approach to the chapters makes it worthwhile reading when you're doing a security audit anyway - to make sure you don't miss anything. Also, you may still pick up a trick or two.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2000
This book make a fascinating read. It is written almost as a hacker's notebook, detailing how a system is targetted and then attacked. Fortunately the book didn't scare me, instead it did reassure me as I was aware of most of the techniques discussed. But the value lays in the way that the book is a summary of all those thousands of web pages discussing vulnerabilities and hacking tools. The book is less than 500 pages yet still covers the pre-amble to an attack and the major weakness (and how to exploit them) of Win 9x, NT 4, Novell and Unix along with other sections on Windows 2000, network devices, firewalls, web servers etc. Some knowledge of Unix and NT services and TCP/IP is assumemed, but it makes a refreshing change to have a book that isn't 1000 pages of padding taken up by TCP/IP and the history of the Internet (again!).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2001
Top notch book, best one i've reviewed on the subject and recommend it for all those network administrators or weiry household users. I was amazed to have discovered that this book provides in detail how hackers hack, techniques,tools,ect and HOW YOU CAN FIGHT BACK!!! makin sure your machine is behind lock 'n key. EXCELLENT
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 June 2002
There is one , Hacking Exposed already the third version is in print and it is safe to say it is as close to a security bestseller that there is. This book walks you through everything you need to know about how hackers do their work and the best part the the good guys (Security Professional) it also tells you how to implement counter measures or what risks are associated.
Sure you might spend days looking for all the information and sure you will find it but this book is what real life is all about and will save your bacon before attackers cook it.
The best part is the Hacking Linux Expose book, it shut a few Linux eyes only people up for once and Linux users also have thier own security problems to solve.
McGraw hill has taken the risk along time ago and it has paid off big for them. Thanks for publishing this book.
When is the Hacking OSX Book comming??
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
i am not a system adminsitrator just a normal computer user i dont want people to "hack" my computer so i bought this book to find out how to stop them. and it has worked i now follow a simple set of rules from the book when on the internet. if you are paronied (which you should be) on the net then get this NOW! it might just save your computer!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)