Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
89
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 March 2013
The general programming elements are interesting and useful. But the first 20% of the book (as measured by the Kindle) are concerned with describing and setting up the Pi, which I thought wasteful in a short book and unnecessary given the ready availability of this on the Net.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Excellent book, I'm using it to teach my son programming on the Raspberry PI. Its a great intro to python programming on any platform, nut is bent towards the PI's unique features such as programming the GPIO. thoroughly recommended.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
I first got intersted in computers a few years ago, well 1980 actually. I bought a Sinclair ZX80 and 81 and I was hooked. This new product looks very interesting and at 66 years old quite a challenge.....
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
This book is for the absolute beginner, I bought it hoping it would give me good insight into using the Raspberry Pi to create some cool hardware/software applications, although it does that to a certain extent the book skims over it with the very light touch.
So you should consider buying this book if you do not know what a Raspberry Pi is and never set one up, have never programmed, and especially not with Python, as more than 50% of the book is devoted to setting up the Pi and basic python programming, for which you will find better resources on the internet for free. There is not enough for specifically programming with the Pi hardware, which after all was what I was after.
One good thing is he does mention many of the extension boards and how they can be used. Other than that it is not worth the money.
11 comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
This book explains a lot about Raspberry Pi. Very clear, very precise. If like me you like the style of a well written text book this is an excellent book. The sort of book that can be used for reference.
Moreover it gives information on the hardware as well. Wish I had bought the book earlier and before grandson arrived,
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
This book is brilliant. If you are a relative novice to programming like me, it takes you right from the basic "hello world" app, right up to reasonably complex programs which involve the use of the Pi's GPIO ports. And if you are already a master programmer it still has alot to give, with information involving the specifics of the Pi and what extra software needs installing (All with links etc) so that you can create a masterpiece in next to no time.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
A good read for anyone planning a project using raspberry pi, as it builds up layers of python software from a basic starters to more advance
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
This book is well written and covers the main structures of python programming. The Raspberry Pi is for mostly a fun tool for dabbling with games making or constructing some hardware project. This book certainly helps towards learning basic Linux and Unix commands and in a short time gain confidence to start achieving some great projects and customised personalised environment. The kindle version is fab and handy for researching Web links on the fly.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2015
Not a bad book, however one or two subjects are quickly glanced over; a little more detail would have made it a far better read. As ever the author is telling you practice makes you better; I can't disagree with this at all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2016
This book is a great introduction to programming using a Raspberry Pi. It doesn't matter if you are an idiot or a tech savvy wiz, there is information in here that'll help you along your way to becoming a programming genius.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)