Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 December 2014
Repetition of words in each lesson is a very effective teaching tool. The only drawback is that many of the clues in the word games are based on the USA (eg US Presidents, history, geography) and so is less relevant/familiar for my UK students.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2017
Item as described. Quick shipping. Happy with the purchase. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
Does the job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
It is a very nice book for vocabulary practice. I would highly recommend this book. The author has explained the words with good examples. My daughter also likes the word game to help cement the knowledge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
This is a good book that my daughter aged 9 enjoys (finally!) and looks forward to. The exercises are more like puzzles than scary Qs. Each exercise begins with a list of 10 words and their synonyms/ antonyms, and is followed by 3 exercises to consolidate those words and make the child more and more familiar with them. It is a handy tool for the 11+ tests.
The reason I have withheld a star is because I dont think 3 exercises are enough per 10 words (and their numerous synonyms!), those words should show up intermittently in exercises along the way, so that the child bumps into them every now and again throughout her journey with this book. There is a real danger that by the time she's done about 10-15 pages she'll have forgotten some of the vocabulary in the first few pages. Because there is a lot to take in, she only does this book once a week, so it would have been nice to have some further exercises to do during the course of the week to consolidate her learning, eg. Write a poem using these words, or Write a story using these 5 words and their antonyms etc.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
A brilliant book. My students love doing the exercises and their vocabulary has improved significantly. Wish I'd found it years ago!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2015
Using this to help year 4 child to prepare for 11+. She really enjoys the exercises and finds it a better way to learn new words. Beware of Americanisms - some words spelt differently or we just don't use in UK. Therefore needs some adult assistance when going through the book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2014
This book is full of good vocab...we are preparing for Bucks 11 plus CEM . Very useful exercises and the layout is very much enjoyed by my daughter. Recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
Extensive vocabulary, well set out and interesting. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
Wonderful serrvice- book came next day. Very good ways to remember new language. Would recommend to any one willjng to learn English. .. only one complaint: 10-14 is a bit too old age group for this book
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)