Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 July 2017
I didn't find it effective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
First of all, I would like to ask reviewers not to grade down language books just because they don't correspond to their level of knowledge. This is a book that was clearly marked (on the back cover) as addressing to students with intermediate level knowledge of the language.

Back to the book now: this is a book that will allow you to practice the vocabulary that you know and pick up new words. Not all of them are useful (I really don't like cooking, so the arabic word for parsley will not be that useful to me), but there are enough words there for the readers to choose the ones that best correspond to their needs. Also, the exercises can be genuinely funny and fun (thank you authors for using charm and intelligence!). This is a companion book and cannot be used as a main textbook, but in reality, it is the exact kind of book that arabic learners needed. With the lack of quality materials to support students of arabic, this series is a breath of fresh air and should encourage more printing houses to follow suit. God knows we need more books that will allow students to focus on different aspects of language learning and give them the change to practice again and again through engaging exercises concepts that can be tricky or completely boring, but essential. And more easy reader books please: they are useful for both beginners and advanced students who find reading a one-page text on the Ottoman Empire completely exhausting, but would like to practice simpler vocabulary to gain fluency.
11 Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2012
Excellent practice and vocab - though I doubt I'll need to talk about Lucy the water buffallo where I live!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2014
Excellent book for experienced Arabic learners. It is good for practice. I have all the series and they helped me a lot
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2015
This is a good book for Arabic vocabulary - each section has some useful verbs BUT I think its more useful and helpful if you use it with "Practice Makes Perfect Arabic Verb Tenses" which is another book of same series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
Pedagogically, the book is not great, but since there is not a lot of competition, it is better than nothing. I felt the word lists are not grouped in the best possible way and there are not enough exercises.

What is most disturbing about the book is cultural ignorance. Apparently the authors have lived in a rather liberal Arabic speaking country, and they present this version of Arab culture as the only version. This is unfortunate because it misleads students who did not visit Arab countries, and take the book as an authority. For example, the description of marriage does not apply to Gulf Arab countries, where it is usually the mothers who fix the marriages. Another example: many of the exercises in the text are about an old fashioned, Western style love story, where the man is in love with a beautiful woman and takes her to restaurants etc. Such public pre-marital relationships are not appropriate in the Gulf in most families. A third example: an exercise in the book is about writing a dating advertisement. In the Gulf there are no dating advertisements in newspapers or magazines. In the exercise the Arab man writes: "I am looking for blond women". Well, I am a blond woman, yet I would like to ask how many Arab women are, so why would an Arab man write he is looking for blond women in a dating advertisement in an Arabic country? Because of the above reasons, I find this book culturally ignorant - ignorant in a way that it presents the culture of the Western minded Mediterranean Arabic speaking countries as The Arab Culture, ignoring half of the Arabic speaking population, namely the Gulf, which, by the way, is where from Arabic language originates.

Both in terms of cultural awareness and pedagogical efficiency I expected more from McGrawHill, which is a trusted name in education. However, since there is a shortage of Arabic materials, I may recommend buying this book. A better tool, however, is Easy Arabic Reader and the accompanying listening option in the McGrawHill website.

There needs to be more competition in Arabic publishing. Gaafar, Wightwick and Burstad have written almost all the materials. Are there only three people in this world who know how to teach Arabic?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2015
brilliant book, really helped me with my vocab. vocab in the book is also really useful for everyday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2015
Good and helpful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2015
Nicely written
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2015
It was not like book that I thought it will be. It's more like a exercise book and it's price seems to be too high!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)