Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 22 March 2013
Excellent, clear, comprehensive and concise. All you want from a foreign language grammar, in short. Starting with an excellent and elucidating section on verbs, the rules are made clear through neat and exhaustive tables.

For learners, a great book for revealing some of the mystery of Hungarian grammar - for the more advanced, a superb reference for the bookshelf (and it's a fairly slim volume, so won't take up too much room, either!).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2016
A good buy for a beginner in Hungarian with some experience with learning languages. The focus is primarily on the morphology of verbs and give a good grounding in that. The more phrasebook-like sections seem rather tacked on (a companion dedicated phrasebook might be more useful), but they give the book some of the qualities of a swiss army knife, and their briefness and economy is praiseworthy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2016
Complete and authoritative. Not suitable for absolute beginners, about three months prior study or so is advisable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
Miklos Torkenczy is an experienced teacher of Hungarian. So says McGraw Hill Professional.
And it shows!
For any Western European, The Hungarian language poses significant difficulties.
'A practical guide to the mastery of Hungarian'. I believe this!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2011
I bought this book out of interest from my recent visit to Hungary where I had mastered the most simplistic hello etc. On P6 there is a section on Harmonic two-form in which front and back should be read as back and front for the examples to be correct. I am surprised none of the other reviewers have noted this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
It is practical, and a useful reference tool. Without instruction on pronunciation from a native, or audio CD though, you are extremely unlikely to get it right, and if you don't, what your saying is meaningless because it's a phonetic language.

My biggest reservation about this book is that throughout they use the word 'fej' as an example to add all manner of suffix and prefix to, and demonstrate varying tenses etc., and translate the word as 'milk'.... In reality 'tej' is milk.. and 'fej' is a completely different word, so almost every example throughout the entire book is wrong!!! Big mistake....................
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2010
This is a must have book for anyone trying to learn Hungarian. Hungarian is such a complicated language I'm really glad I bought this little book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2010
I'm learning Hungarian right now, and the grammar is the really difficult part. Words end with various suffixes that are nigh on impossible to remember, even after months of learning.
This book has everything one could possibly need, condensed so that it will fit easily into a handbag or briefcase.
The section on postpositions is awesome, the vocab list at the back is incredibly useful but the best part by far is the list of noun cases and examples.
Overall, I'd not suggest this book as your sole introduction to Hungarian, but with the help of another book, such as a short phrasebook and perhaps a dictionary, this is perfect for getting your sentence structure perfect!
Highly, highly reccomended!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2011
I'm very impressed with this title. Incredible value! My only general reservation concerns its rating between "beginner" and "intermediate" levels, on the back cover. Surely it is more advanced than that, with linguists' terms like "obstruent" in the coverage of pronunciation (which is thorough, but not exhaustive: good to have it all). I will use this as a serious reference grammar, for its superbly logical layout and thorough treatment of all that is essential. And I'll certainly have it to hand if I ever attempt to get command of the language: as an accompaniment to other resources.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2011
Hungarian is an very complicated language to learn, not least because they don't seem to have the verb 'to have'. This is a very useful book for getting to grips with some of the more complicated grammar, and understanding what a definitive noun is. Having lived in Hungary for 2 years, I do my best to speak a little of the language, but very rarely seem to be understood or can understand much of what others say to me. As Hungarian is a very phonetic language and pronunciation is very precise, this is really a language you have to learn by speaking and listening rather than from a book. For this reason I don't think you would be able to learn the language from this book, but it is excellent aide to accompany hungarian lessons.
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)