Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
30
4.5 out of 5 stars


on 15 January 2016
A good collection of engineering formulas but it is important to remember that is all it is - a collection of formulas. I interpret the book as a reasonable attempt to gather numerous formula together under one cover for convenience - nothing more.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 1998
This book is a good general reference for the technical professional who travels. A good variety of formulas and commonly referenced data makes this useful to someone who has experience solving problems, but just forgot the formula. There is little explaination of the subject matter, so it has limited use to the uninitiated. Still, the unit conversions, area formulas and good coverage of mathematics makes it valuable to the person who only occasionally has to make simple calculations. It also should sufficiently intimidate anyone who might think that solving engineering problems is fun and easy. The numerous, well scattered blank pages are useful for writing in your own formulas or notes, and the small size assures that you will take this one with you. I am buying a second because my brother (a technical salesman) ran off with mine.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
Extremely useful little reference book - I dip into mine on a regular basis. It is, however, extremely terse - if you're looking to learn about concepts, rather than just have your memory jogged, this is not the place to look.

For working engineers, though, a very handy little book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2011
Gieck Engineering formulas.

To say that I had high hopes about this pocket wonder, is understating it. Gieck's EF is a little legend amongst engineers, and a must have for all engineering student. Its comprehensive in that it has it all, well laid out making everything easy to find. Expect your copy to be one of the most used text's you own.

TinTin NL
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 1999
This book has almost every topic that a mechanical design engineer will encounter, and provides a thorough reference for all those pesky formulae that you have difficulty remembering
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2003
There is a reason this book is hardback: This is the most overused book I have ever bought. It has all the formulas you can't be bothered to commit to memory without becoming "Janet and Jill do Engineering". It's well laid out to boot.
My last copy (1990) just died and the new edition is even better.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2011
My first encounter with Gieck's pocket books was in Germany, where I bought the book "Gieck, Technische Formelsammlung". Later when I returned home, I purchased the English Edition of the 1974 "Gieck Engineering Formulas". This new edition is very much extended, taking in more areas. One must remember that this pocket book is a collection of formulas only. It is a reminder or reference source. Some previous knowledge is required. It is concise and very informative. It is a book to keep nearby at all times.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
Worth every penny. This book contains a ridiculous amount of formulae from many of the engineering disciplines, with a large section on heat and page upon page of differential and integral equations and forces. The book also provides more than enough information for the student to be able to adapt and apply general principles to the majority of situations. For any engineering student or practicing engineer, this book is a 'must have'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2008
Very useful pocket knowledge but only if you understand engineering and mathematics. A definite buy if your a desk engineer. Likewise with Machinery Handbook and Roarks Stress/Strain formula. I now have a full array of weapons to use instead of googling all my forgotten formulae!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)