Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more


on 19 March 2013
I am a linguist myself, speaking five languages, but ever since I was a child I've been fascinated by languages and scripts. This book is outstanding for its ease of reading a very difficult subject. I loved it from the moment I started reading it. I will read it again, and probably again after that.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2018
Recipient of the gift enjoyed it. Was informative and accessible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 October 2017
All the ancient scripts in a nutshell. Good book. Good service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2016
brilliant. thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2016
Great writer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2013
A generally clear exposition of the material offered, though the title suggests a wider scope than the contents of the book cover. The book would be a useful present for any general reader with broad interests.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2017
My son is fascinated by it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
An excellent book, much updated with new developments in decipherment since my old edition . An excellent reference work studying ancient languages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 February 2013
This books proves that an account of a highly academic discipline can be made understandable and interesting to the lay person.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2004
Written in a clear and concise style with copious illustrations and photographs, this book is a fascinating insight into some of the worlds oldest forms of writing. Covering first the work undertaken over the last 200 years to decipher previously unknown scripts such as Egyptian Hieroglyphs and Linear B, and some of the techniques employed to crack their 'codes', the text moves on to scripts still partially or totally undeciphered, such as Etruscan and Indus Valley. The book is evidently the work of an author fully in command of his material, but is presented in astyle and vocabulary accessible to the layman. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)