Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Exclusive playlist - Elton John Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
45
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£50.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 May 2002
I used this book as a starting point for my econometrics courses for my MSc. I've never done econometrics and not much statistics before. It contains a surprising amount of detail and though can sometimes be a bit lacking in places (the more advanced topics which you probably wouldnt look for in an intro book like this anyway. so kudos for NOT covering them in detail!) its an excellent text. Highly recommended as a text book for beginners or as a reference to all and sundry.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2008
A fantastic book for gaining a basic understanding of the subject. Have seen other books and trust me - you can easily get lost in some of them.

The english is good and the writing style helps you move through the book with ease without lose of continuity and thoughts.

A sound treatment at the basic level for anyone willing to learn the subject without the greek notations.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2000
Gujarati's treatment of Econometrics is clearly a cut above the rest. His examples and explanations make it clear, and simple to understand. However, a pre-requisite for the reader would be to have done at least Maths C in the GCE "A" Levels.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2007
I purchased this book as a revision aid for my exams and was horrified when i opened it. All it is a notebook with definitions on one page then a lined page on the other. Furthermore the definitions are just repeated every other pages and are mostly irrelevant e.g. of the definitions labour, budget, stock, time, elasticity as you can see they are pretty poor.

There is nothing in this book that will either teach or help with revision. It also has a link to a web site with online tests which I purchased for $5, again the same thing the tests were just definitions and each chapters test did not refer in anyway to the content of the chapter.

Reviews above are obviously for the main text book and not this 'revision' guide. The only way i would buy this was if it was less than a lined A4 notebook.

This is my 1st review as I felt compelled not to warn everyone else not to waste their money on this book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2002
This textbook comes with many "real" examples which allow readers to learn and realize the applications of econometric techniques. It also gives an introduction to panel data and time series methods which are very common in empirical works, but not covered by many introductory textbooks.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 1999
I used this book while I was a student of the Delhi School of Economics. This is the ideal book to start your studies of Econometrics. Infact, I would recommend reading this book before moving on to any area related to Econometrics.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2016
The book is very useful. I think that it will help me achieve my primary goals as an economist. Therefore, I would like to take this opportunity to thank again Dr Damodar N. Gujarati (the author) for his hard work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2002
This book could be very useful for students who don't have strong econometric knowledges but are interested in a complete (but superficial) overview of the main topics in econometrics. The simple and clear language used by the author and the number of example suggested represent the most important advanteges of this book. I wouldn't suggest this book to postgraduate students who are already familiar with classical linear model and estimatin's problems.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2011
As a student you don't know when you are getting screwed. This book is ok, but not more, when it comes to basic OLS and cross section. Many books pass that critira though. Everything that concerns macroeconomic modeling and time series is simply hoplessly outdated in this book. Weare talking - 20 to 25 years or something. Frankly, it is embarrasing to read. Please look around for more recent books if you really want to learn econometrics.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2009
That book is helps people who don't know a lot about econometrics to get used to terminology and introduction to new concepts.
Loved it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)