Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
447
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 April 2017
One of my favourite books from my childhood, I was keen to read it with my daughter. And it repays re-reading - for a children's story it has surprising moral depth and complexity (or maybe not so surprising given its author).
One slight quibble I have with this edition is that, while Pauline Baynes' original illustrations are very nicely rendered (in colour) inside, the reproduction of the cover from the old Puffin edition (also her artwork) is a bit cheap-looking. I guess things have moved on here since 1998.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
One of the first books that I had ever owned as a child- this edition is exactly as I remember my book as a kid.
A great story that never ages- a story for kids of all ages
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2015
I was extremely disappointed when this arrived because it was not the Michale Hordern recording which was promised in the description. They have changed the description now . If you are not expecting the MH one, it is a lovely telling of the story and not too abridged!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2017
Beautifully written and evocative truths wrapped in simplicity. Remarkably relevant despite being written so many years ago. A must - read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2016
Excellent read for children
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
All great product s ... thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
Who could not love this classical tale. Bought to replace lost copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2017
Bought as a gift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2017
Well it's an old favourite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2017
A classic, perfect for world book day and beyond
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse