Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 July 2017
This book got me unstuck, after months of not being able to move forward with a story that I began. It is very unconventional in its approach, even though it has a tendency to be over simplistic, sometimes you need to be broad-stroked to just get the first vomit draft down on paper. Then you can go into the nit picking! I would say they are a bit too optimistic about writing 15 pages per day. I can do 10 on a good day. So it is very unlikely anyone will have it down in 21 days, unless you are the rambling type who doesn't really care about quality.

One other thing, you have to have the idea of what you want to write mostly in your head already, then this book helps it get birthed. If you are completely clueless I suggest you spend more time researching, watching films, deciding your topic and basic storyline first.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2001
I have had this book for a number of years now. I work as an editor and script writer and find Viki King's description of the emotional journey of the hero, and that of the writer closely aligned with how you hope your audience to feel as they watch your movie. There's very few reference books that deal with that essential relationship. Obviously she works with a classic single hero story form which is great for first timers and easy to adapt for more experienced writers. Above all she gets one writing - a crucial issue for even the most experienced and celebrated writers I've worked with.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2001
A short and sweet book designed to help the writer listen to his or her heart when writing a story. I think this is supposed to mean 'follow your intuition and don't think too much and get the bloody thing down on paper -- and you will reach a sort of truthfulness in your work, and there will be a finished product in a format worth showing to others.'
It has provided me with a formula to follow in order to accomplish a proper story with a beginning, middle and end -- a lot more difficult than it seems when you're starting out. In particular, it has helped me manage my writing time in a more useful way. Oh, and it sets daily goals that are manageable.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2004
Yes it's hokey and american, but this is a true gem of a book. It commands, challenges and inspires you to write. Yes it's three act stuff, and probably most suitable to Hollywood formula stuff, but...it actually gets you writing.
This book sets you exercises to write. Who ever read Robert McKee and tried to hone their writing skills while reading it? More likely they put that book down for a stiff gin and a bracing walk to avoid getting a DVT.
It's not perfect, but it's as perfect as you are going to get. It will stop you reading and start you writing, and that's more than half the battle.
You may buy others first, but please buy this eventually, and realise its condensed, inspiring magic.
This book lays bare the truth of many writers: we all dream of writing a work of genius, yet in dreaming, never write a word.
This book tells you to keep dreaming, and keep writing.
11 Comment| 78 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2005
This is an excellent book to give you pointers on writing your movie. It is remarkebly easy to read and understand and is just the right size to take anywhere with you with great ease.
This book helps to solve the small as well as the large problems you may have with simplicity. It helps you with the visualisation of your movie, even when you don't have too much to go on.
The suggested layouts are quite conventional though but this is easily solved with a little visualisation and imagination on the writers part and actually helps you to know what it is that you want out of your script and its layout. There are some great pointers for each stage of your movie and some basic tips to get you through the day and any fears that you might have.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2007
Not entirely sure why everyone seems to be raving about this book. It's not a bad book but there are *much* better screenwriting books than this kicking around out there e.g. Save The Cat, or How Not To Write A Screenplay, or the quite excellent Teach Yourself Screenwriting and Pocket Essential Writing A Screenplay and so on.

Maybe it's me but I've just stuck my copy in a charity bag...!
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2004
Does what it says on the tin. I managed to get out a screenplay in 21 Days following this book.
It still needs polishing but it got my idea onto paper. Highly recommended - and it was recommended to me by someone who wrote a screenplay in 21 Days using this book.
22 Comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2011
This is, quite simply, the book that is getting me going actually writing a screenplay. Forget Robert McKee, Syd Field etc, if you're very much in the thick of the creative process. They'll just turn on your critic! This is my bible that I keep returning to for step-by-step, handholding, practical advice on actually writing your screenplay day-by-day, from idea to finished product. Viki King has the ring of wisdom, of one who has walked the road, and wants you to write!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
just what it says it is. short concise book of advice for people who need building blocks to constructing a story
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
This book that is worth going through and doing all the exercises. It's a bit formulaic but it is important to understand the basic formulas should you wish to drift away from them. It's clear, it's persuasive and it gets you writing and teaches you much about the story timing of screenwriting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)