Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 10 February 2017
I have read most of Charles Todd's and (Mom)books, I find the American spelling irritating, The English do not use the word Gotten or Off-Of, and we have pavements not sidewalks. These and others are in all their books. They need a good ENGLISH editor, otherwise a Good read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 April 2014
Normally I cannot wait to begin reading this particular author, but this time I felt the story took a bit long to get anywhere and towards the last chapters everything was crammed together, hence the 3 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2017
Lovely, beautiful and moving love story. Just perfect for every fan of "Downton Abbey" or romance authors like Jane Austen or Charlotte Bronte. Love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2013
Another lovely Charles Todd book. Very well researched as to the peroid. If you like Bess Crawford you will love this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2016
A wonderfully moving book simply loved it .Having lived through the second war l felt l understood what the people suffered and their emotions
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2014
I loved this book. I have read all of the Charles Todd books and look forward to each new publication.
This book was a step away from their usual hero and heroine series. It was masterful.
Congratulations and thank you. I loved this Holiday Tale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 June 2013
Excellent couldn't put it down a great read a story that keeps you wanting to get to the end brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 21 November 2012
Fans of the mother/son writing team known as Charles Todd will want to add this 'holiday tale' to their Christmas reading list.

I have only recently discovered Todd's WWI novels featuring Bess Crawford - a British World War I army nurse - but quickly became a fan of the series. Todd again explores WWI with a new character.

Lady Elspeth Douglas of Scotland is in France, visiting her fiancee, when war breaks out in 1914. She finds herself stranded, but decides to make herself useful, helping out with the wounded. It is on the battlefield that she comes across old friend Captain Peter Gilchrist. Lady Douglas decides to do her part for the war effort and become a nursing sister - known only as Elspeth Douglas. (Bess makes a cameo as a flatmate.)

Todd weaves a wonderfully rich, atmospheric story of love lost and found, duty, honour, loyalty, and the mores of the time period.

I chose to listen to The Walnut Tree and really enjoyed the reader - Fiona Hardingham. She employs a very proper British accent to narrate that conjures up the time period perfectly. Her Scottish accent for Elspeth was excellent and never faltered. I had a quite definite picture of Elspeth painted in my mind, much of it gleaned from Hardingham's interpretation. Other characters were easily differentiated as she has a quite a versatile voice.

Those looking for a mystery similar to Bess's books won't find it here. (But Elspeth is just as strong minded as Bess!) Instead it's a lovely little historical (and romantic) holiday tale, perfect for a night's read by the tree. Fans of Anne Perry's Christmas tales will enjoy The Walnut Tree.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here