Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 15 August 2017
Best autobiography I have ever read. Georges is a true technician; this book gives a spectacular insight into the mind of one of the greatest personalities in MMA history. I have read it a few times now. Beware, Georges will be your new favourite person after reading this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
Line of the best sports champions alive. Enough said.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
I'm biased since I'm a huge GSP fan but I genuinely enjoyed the book and believe that people who aren't MMA fans will also take something away from it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
This book has been incredibly interesting and insightful. Understanding GSP's philosophy on dealing with the immense pressures of competition that he has to live with really has been helpful to me, especially his writing on dealing with fear and using it to your advantage. I think the philosophy of martial artists is especially practical and useful as it has to work for them, and they are facing real dangers when stepping into a fight.

I really believe that GSP's philosophy can be applied to much more than fighting.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2014
Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
This is not your typical fighters autobiography.....then again GSP is not your typical fighter. It isn't packed full of backstage-rumble rumours and hard luck stories. It is, however, packed with an insight into what makes GSP tick. It is a book about preparation, psychology, philosophy and attitude. Intelligently written this had me gripped from the start
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
This book is not quite what I expected as an autobiography. This is probably less about Georges' personal life then Brock Lesner put in his book Death Clutch: My Story of Determination, Domination, and Survival. However the knowledge Georges tries to impart, from philosophy, to his beliefs, sacrifices and rewards is amazing. I read more like a self-help book then an autobiography.

This is actually a creation manual of how the outsider Georges became one of the greatest marital arts fighters of his generation. He takes Bruce Lee and other philosophiser as his inspiration using philosophy (an idea) as a starting stone, the next step is GSP's interpretation (what he thing the person is trying to convey), then practical examples which he lives every day to achieve his goal. He gives a perfect example of Lee's fighting without fighting method is his job as a bouncer.

Here is an example of GSP's though process. He strives for perfection. He knows it is impossible but, that just make him try harder to achieve it. He states as he is writing this book he wants it to be the best book in its category. Who would say that when they have very little to no writing experience, and English is not their first language? As I was writing this review Amazon printed a label the "No 1 martial arts book in the world". That is what GSP lives for setting goals people think are impossible and achieving them. Then seeking a higher goal for himself.

The book really shines on the mental aspect of martial arts. I say martial arts instead of mixed martial arts (MMA), because of it being mixed MMA inherits the theories from the other Martial arts. What GSP has done is managed to group together the ideas that go together e.g. a boxing jab, with a Muay Thai stance, then karate "rush" to break distance for a wrestling takedown, then control pound or look for a submission. He call this "shootbox" (his amalgamated fighting style not the famous Brazilian gym) a style all his own. He sees "Shootbox" as the interface to all these different arts used in MMA.

The negatives I found about the book are there is very little about other fighters and fights. I would have liked to have more of GSP's though on his own fights he does this a couple of times to point out how he jab paid off in the second Kos fight. This can be explained because GSP truly believed his fights are won in the week and months before the execution is done as his body has been taught to over the gruelling training camp. It would have been nice to hear his views about other fighters, and a fight from his perspective. Then again GSP does not remember his fights straight after them he need to watch them again, then he can recall it move for move. Also I would have like to hear GSP's side of the second Penn fight. Penn and a number of people blatantly accused him if cheating (greasing). I think this would have been a perfect forum for GPS to give his side but he does not even mention it.

GSP is always training the training camps are really just him fine tuning his game plan for his specific opponent, more than a really physical change. A great book that will give, I think, and greater insight into GSP then any autobiography could ever do; extremely insightful look into Martial arts. This is GSP book and like martial arts GSP has taken over every aspect of Georges' life. Read it and you will understand what I mean.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
Not just a book about fighting. Far from it.

If you interested in the things that got GSP where he is today, (goal setting, vision, strategic thinking etc..) this is a great book. If you just want a blow by blow account of each fight you won't like this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
- An enjoyable read, recommended to all GSP fans. Those who would have preferred an autobiography won't be too disappointed.

- I didn't plan on purchasing this book. Like many others, i was hoping to one day own and read the full-fledge autobiography of GSP. The idea of reading a book pertaining to GSP's philosophy on subjects like training and combat were not that appealing to me, especially after having read establish classics in these areas like Miyamoto Musashi's "The Book of Five Rings", Sun Tzu's "The Art of War", Lao Tzu's "Tao Te Ching" and having delved into the plethora of strength and conditioning, physical rehabilitation content, etc available from world renowned experts on these topics.

- Still, it was a pleasant surprise when i received this as a gift. I still learnt a lot about GSP. The book offers unique insight into GSP's upbringing, life and past. It includes accounts from those closest to him, including his mother, John Danaher, Kristof Midoux, Firas Zahabi and Rodolphe Beaulieu whilst pleasantly blending in aspects of GSP's philosophy. The book is of high quality and is aesthetically pleasing.

- To those looking for an alternative or visual companion to book - i recommend watching "Takedown: The DNA of GSP" (2014). Sam Sheridan's "The Fighter's Mind" is an excellent book providing insight to the mind of the fighter if you haven't read that already.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2013
This book is different from what i expected, good but different. GSP in my opinion is the most complete martial artist around, maybe not the best, neither is Silva or Jones until a super fight. Anyway great book with interesting for a GSP fan to see how he dealt with the shock loss to Serra, his admiration for Hughes and his 3rd challenge to comeback from a knee injury. If you want to learn more about GSP and what made him who he is today in a philosophical sense then definitely buy, if you're interested in MMA buy and if you don't have a clue about MMA buy, you might be a bit lost but I can ensure you, there is something, big or small, for everyone to take from this book.

I look at one of my idols differently now, better, but different. He was always the complete gentleman and ambassador for a fantastic sport, I was disappointed about some things he didn't talk about, BJ Penn cheating scandal and his relationship with Dana White. Overall great book would advise everyone to buy. Can't fully describe the book, but its a thought out book which has funny and lonely points in the book. Must buy and read in my opinion
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)