Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 June 2014
I read the other books in this series and found them to be a very good reading. This latest book though I think the author has lost the plot, he goes into a lot of political and science background which a found to be seriously distracting, so much so I lost interest half way through the book and couldn't finish it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
Book 5 picks up some time after book 4. It was interesting finding out what all the old characters had been up to in the intervening years. The old enemies are still out there the sh'daar collective threatening from the shadows. The mysterious starlight aliens with their godlike technology are still a big unknown. But neither really come to the fore in book 5 as it concentrates on earths civil war and a new alien enemy that see us as a new food source. It's a complex and interesting story. Personally I end up skipping a lot of the technical explanations of how the tech works. It feels like each book has explained FTL and it's associated technology's to death, and I just cannot take any more, captain. Even considering the swathes of story you have to skim over if you not overly interested in alternate physics, there is a worthwhile story to be read here.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
For book 4 (Deep Space) I wrote "I started off enjoying this series, but with each new book, there were too many rehashes and descriptive texts of concepts etc, defeating the continuity of the story".

Unfortunately, this episode is even worse; there is so much rambling and regression it became quite a tedious read, which was a pity as the basic plot has potential. In books 3 and 4 the content could easily have been reduced by 30% to preserve the story-telling; for this bok I dare say it has increased to 50%.

I doubt very much that I will read any future releases that complete this series. Sorry, but your waffling has lost this fan.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
This book is not as good as the first four in the Star Carrier series and had the feel of a book that was 'dashed off' to meet a dead line. We are briefly introduced to the Rosette Aliens, who appear to ignore us, and then move on to another unknown species who we give a bloody nose. Presumably the Rosette Aliens will get more mention in; ? (Star Carrier, Book 6) Lets hope so.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
Having followed the Star Carrier series from its conception, I am once again astounded at the pure brilliance of the latest installment. As mentioned by other reviews, yes this book does visit a few of the background politics and the meta-plot. This, however, is very important as, contrary too what one of the reviewers mentioned, a anchoring point for the plot, re-defining what is actually going on within the universe of Men (Humans), bringing the vibrant and realistic internal strife of a species to the author.

Many of the core characters make an appearance, uncovering a great amount of character development. Technology has been refined and boosted, thankfully not beyond believable means, straddling that thin line of hard and soft sci-fi, which Ian Douglas does so well. And of course the utter alien species that make this series stand out amongst the masses are once again slithering towards the inevitable, unthinkable first encounter.

I hope that book 6 is already red-shifting in our direction, as I cannot wait!! What a great read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2015
Warning, the storyline is good, the author is intelligent, BUT,I skipped probably a good third of the this and previous books due to repetition. He not only repeats in each book what he has written in previous books (much of it cut &pasted) but repeats stuff with the book over and over again. I could compress the story of the five books so far into one. Another annoying trait is half way through an action sequence, he will go off on three page dissertation about how the hero's laser pistol was developed. It's like watching an interesting film but with five minutes of ads every ten minutes, you just lose interest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2017
Good series thus far but getting expensive for a Kindle book. The next one even more so. Also, getting v.annoyed with excessive padding - there is a limit to the number of times I need to be reminded how the ice cap works or other technology mechanisms used throughout the series. At one point, there were 2-3 pages full of material covered only a chapter before. Smacks of Ian adding content for the sake of it to increase page count - certainly a little patronising for the readers who have had the same descriptions handed out for 5 books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2016
More of the same, neither brilliant or terrible,
the action scenes are nail biting and you can't help but be worried for the minor characters that the author follows.
Sandy gray once again leads CBG 40 out into the dark to fight another unknown enemy and president Koenig faces the confederation with his forces on earth and in the solar system.
Overran it's not a satisfying entry to the series, it doesn't move the story too far along and feel like a filler before something major happens.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2015
Complete departure from earlier books in series. Not what I was expecting. Not sure whether to continue with series. Disappointing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
Book 5 of the continuing saga of the star carrier America, if you've got past book 4 you already know you want this one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse