Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 15 September 2016
This is overall an essential guide to film stars, crew members and filmmaking, but a lot of biographies are in serious need of revision. There are many actors, Michael Caine and Al Pacino among them, whose biography is covered extensively up until a certain point, but anything from the last two decades is skimmed over or only given a fleeting mention. That said, the filmographies for all actors and filmmakers are completely up to date, although the book would benefit from some general updates.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2016
I got this as a present from my parents for Christmas and am rather pleased with it as it has a lot of great information about the film industry which I can spend hours looking at as I am a massive film buff. However I feel especially now it is out of date. Because it was published in 2012 it is missing about 5 years of film. This means it looks at older filmmakers and actors more than more recent filmmakers with Shane Black, Edgar Wright and Taika Waititi (some of my favourite modern filmmakers) missing. As a whole it has some great information it's just in need of an update.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 April 2014
Gift for my son, he loved it, lots of info and details, my only thing I would have liked would be a thicker cover book was a bit floppy for a large book. Would buy again and recommend
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 December 2012
Katz's film book is an update from the original published in the 1980's. It is better than the old Halliwell Companions and a useful alternative to the reference books (like the Radio Times Guide) which concentrate on film titles, and which are less relevent these days now that the likes of the IMDB is available online.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2016
the encylopedia is perfect and in good condition even as used, thank you !
jannis
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2015
Any Film fanatic would need this for reference
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2013
Plenty of excellent material in this book, however the method used to organise this material is not for most convenient use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2014
This was bought as a present for my nephew who is studing film production and editing. He loved it and it kept him quiet all Christmas!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 March 2014
Book is very interesting as it deals with actors/actresses and the terms used in the film industry. Should be bought.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 January 2015
The one film book you can't do without. It's an extraordinary achievement for one man to have written such a definitive work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)