Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
31
4.5 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 October 2016
Having been a fan of Sammy's for many years I was interested to see what a life he's had.
After reading this book, it's like what everybody states In their review's, yeah he talks openly about he's wealth, car's, homes, but hey wouldn't you.
The guy's been a worker for everything he's gained, he really came from a humble upbringing in Sammy's own words it's heartfelt and honest.
He's business mind is to be saluted as well what a guy.
The music career WOW real highs and lows.....the low Been really EVH's ego, attitude, and mental sate, and how Sammy can still love the guy speaks volume's about the size of his heart like everything, not his wallet.
The book does make you feel as well especially regarding his first wife and all the things they went through, and Sammy did make laugh out loud as well!......especially regarding DLR what a waste hahahahahaha, Sammy killed him every night!
All in all, a very open and honest story and a great read!
To the RED ROCKER Sammy, thank,s for the time spent telling your story like a lot of people have stated it feels like an old friend having a chat and a shot of tequila withya!
😈😀
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2012
every time i pick up a book to read about someone i idolised a few years back i am sorely reminded that i do not have to like the person to enjoy the music ,there is a sense of severe let down here ,not only is it poorly written but mr hagar comes across as very me me me and seems to define his talent only through his millions it is sad to be so self absorbed that you cannot see the tree from the forest some of the best music ever written defined moments in peoples lives and those are not forgotten ,to read about constant boasting and money earning was not what i thought id get out of this read!so there is no surprise when at the end of the book he acknowledges the fans last and quickly and he states the women as just tools for his entertainment for the journey!!!'well as my dad used to say 'he has daughters too!!!'
MR HAGAR YAWN TO YOU AND YOUR CUSTOM MADE WHATEVER,I WONDER IF YOU HAVE ANY IDEA WHAT IS PRICELESS ON THIS TINY PLANET IN THIS TINY GALAXY???
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2011
Being a guitar player, I've always admired Eddie Van Halen's playing, but have suspected for a long time that he may not be the easiest of people to get along with. I therefore purchased this book to get the low-down and I wasn't surprised to hear that, according to Mr Hagar, he was a complete nightmare to work with. I'm certain that EVH would have a different view but I'm inclined to believe this book as being the closest we will get to the truth.

However, there is no doubt that Mr Hagar has a huge opinion of himself and spends a fair bit of the book telling you how great and successful he is. OK, so he is a rock and roll front man, so he isn't exactly going to be the shy and retiring type, but hearing just how considerably richer than you he is, does get a little boring after a while. To be fair though, maybe it is because I'm a modest Englishman who finds self promotion quite vulgar.

Also, again, to be fair, it does appear to be a very honest account and I guess for that he should be applauded. I never followed him before Van Halen so I didn't get as much out of the pre-Van Halen stuff, but it was still interesting to read how he got to the point when he joined the band.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
OK So Sammy does have lots of doh! He does tell us about the things he has been able to buy because of his success but lets not forget we are talking about a guy who grew up with absolutely no material wealth and not even a steady place to live.

He has always given a 100% and just wanted to make music , even taking a pay cut to join Van Halen. Now as a Brit, I just didn't get it. Yes he was hands down a better singer and writer than Roth but I prefered Montrose and solo Sammy.

He talks about his business ventures but was in the right place at the right time and stuck with them when they started to fold. unlike the VH brothers who signed away right to Cabo so as not to have to meet it's initial debts and secure the logo rights outright from Sammy.

So he deserves what he has, indeed has earned more from his other businesses than from music.

The book itself is a frank account of his life and dealings with the industry, even sounding sad at the demise of the industry as he knew it. He talks about the despair of trying to deal with his first wife's illness until he could take no more. Obviously there were all the trappings of superstardom!

The only thing that spoilt this for me was that Kindle do not provide video on these enhanced versions that plays on pc or android, so cannot comment on the video content. That is why there are only 4 stars.

I have recently read autobiographies from Slash and Duff and this is as good as those , if that helps.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
Great stories, well written, Sammy sure knows an anecdote when he lives one. His early life is poignant and quite heart-breaking, but it does make you understand his drive to succeed all the more. This is much better than DLR's book, a fact which will please sammy no end, no doubt. By the time it's over you'll be rooting for the red rocker like Rocky! If you like Rock Biographies, you'll love this...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2011
First off. Did you know that Sammy was very rich and everything he turns his hand to is mega-succesful?

Did you know that Sammy has his own plane? Personalised Ferrari? Expensive house? Beautiful wife?

Did you know that everyone Sammy has ever been involved with in a group scenario is a dick and Sammy is great?

If the answer to the above is NO and you still want to, then read on

Having followed Sammy's career from Montrose days I was really looking forward to reading this but have to say, the content was so shallow and boastful I barely got to the end.
If your looking for insight into the writing of the many rock anthems Sammy has been involved with then think again. Montrose's debut album is universally regarded as a classic. His involvement with Montrose takes up about a dozen (large font) pages.....considerably less than his ramblings about his (mega-succesful!) Cantina.
His involvement with Van Hagar amounts to little more than "We were the biggest band on the planet and I made millions but Eddie VH / Alex VH / the Manager were dicks" ......and so it goes on

The final page is Sammy telling you he doesnt see himself as anything special or better than you...... obviously, thats if you too, have got the planes and mansions and Ferraris and millions and beautiful wives he's spent most of the book 'impressing' you with...

If you dont mind any of the above then im sure you will enjoy Sammy's Twitterings but I would suggest spending yer hard-earned on 2 far far superior autobiogs - 'Life' By Keef and 'Does the noise...' by Steven Tyler. By the way - 2 rock stars far more famous and far more humble than Sammy

Now tell me again Sammy...how much money do you have????
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2011
If you're even remotely familiar with the Red Rocker, this book will reinforce what you probably already know. He likes to make music, he likes to party, he likes fast cars, he likes being a rock star, and enjoys the perks that come with it. He's blunt and comes across honest when talking about things, whether it's his struggles with his first wife or fallouts with bandmates. He's full of anecdotes and doesn't mind namedropping.
I would describe myself as a more than casual fan of Sammy's. Not a die-hard, but familiar enough with his work, owning a bit of Montrose, VH, and solo. I've always liked his style, his attitude, his zest for life, his general persona. And I've always had a soft spot for the guy, as he's been good to St. Louis (my old stomping grounds). I received this book as a gift, and I enjoyed it much more than I thought I would. It's full of great stories, juicy tidbits (esp. regarding the whole VH thing), some great pics, and all the Sammy you want. The writing style is easy and breezy. You can easily hear Sammy saying it as you read it.
Bottom line: If you like Sammy, you'll love this book. If you don't like Sammy, give it a miss.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
What a story. You know that saying, "what do you get for the guy that has everything"? Well, Sammy Hagar is that guy. This is one rock star with more Smarts than Billy's circus, and a big heart. Somehow, virtually everything he touched turned to gold, and he always came up smelling of roses. It's not luck though. It was hard work belief, and all from a guy who is exactly what he appears to be , a working class hero. No fakery here, no prima donnas (unless you count the dysfunctional Van Halen boys) hop on, it's a helluva ride!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2012
Funny, and easy to read.
He did a very nice job by not to often stabbing the "Van Halen" brothers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2015
They don't make them like Sammy. He is the man. I remember seeing Montrose on the old grey whistle test in the 70s but at the time there was only one band for me. Zeppelin. I loved the van Halen years but I didn't really appreciate him until Chickenfoot. If you are into rock music, this is the book for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)