Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
74
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 February 2010
Although many people advise against turning your hobby into your day job, Gary Vaynerchuk, an Internet and business phenomenon, vehemently disagrees. He boldly promotes quitting your job to pursue a profession that is your passion. An immigrant from Belarus, Vaynerchuk rose to fame in his mid-30s because of Wine Library TV, the popular, highly publicized video blog he started in 2006. Through his imaginative Internet Webcasts, Vaynerchuk has made himself a leading authority on wines and a respected expert on online brand development and marketing. His style is unpretentious, a welcome change from the reserved mien of tuxedoed wine critics. Vaynerchuk provides step-by-step explanations on how to create a personal brand and promote it using social media such as Facebook and Twitter. Although the advice is overly simplistic - Vaynerchuk somewhat naively assumes anyone can emulate his success - and the topic is well-worn, getAbstract appreciates Vaynerchuk's sincere advice and recommends his clear, lively book to new entrepreneurs and others who want an introduction to the world of social media.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2009
I had great expectations for this book, being a fan of Gary's style. I must say that Crush It! doesn't disappoint. Gary's tone gets you energised from the first page. He really believes in his message, and it comes across. He guides us in creating our own personal brand. If you have a passion (as most of us do), you must follow it, work like hell, and the results will come. But you must read the book to know all the details, from the man himself. Ah, and it's small book. I finished it in two evenings. The essentials are all there, with no beating aroud the bush. A must.
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2015
If you're thinking about starting a business, you'll have read every similar topic and message in this book already, but for free online.

A useful list of obvious things you should do to market yourself (get a Twitter and Facebook page set up - thanks Gary, wouldn't have thought of that), and then it's general low level motivational stuff (YOU are in control! YOU have to make it happen!).

Save the money you'd have spent on this book, and invest it in your idea. Pay for your domain name.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2010
I bought the audio version of this book and it has more info than the hard copy, simply because it is more up to date. Gary's enthusiasm, passion, drive and personality totally shine through in this book, and it's easy to see why he has gained such popularity. He is literally giving you a blueprint to brand yourself and your company and become the person and business you are meant to be. the theme that ran all throughout the book is listen to your customers and interact with them and do so with honesty and integrity - isn't that a wonderful thing to be finally doing in business. The small man is now the giant of media and Gary shows you how to Crush it!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2010
Despite being a hardcover, it's a pretty lightweight book. Big print, lots of white space - you can read this very quickly, which is good in a couple of ways as it means it is clearly laid out and you can take it all in in one go. It has good advice and is quite inspirational, but at no point did I fill my pants. There were no surprises.

He summarises the book in three points early on and, in hindsight, I could have stopped reading at that page.

I think his website was instantly more influential than his book. Nevertheless, he is passionate and has a strong and interesting personality, which comes through in text, but more so on screen.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2010
I really enjoyed this book, Gary sure knows how to share his passion for things and what made him successful in a easy, straight forward way.
Unlike other authors of similar books, Gary is quite a humble person, yet quite intense, who insists on us being true to ourselves and not follow step-by-step his approach..
he gives many tips and tricks on how to develop you passion, but most importantly he talks about the human side of it, about discovering your own DNA and building on it towards success.
I say 'its not what the title says' because Gary himself insists that its not about the money, its about building on your passion, and that happiness is the goal.. not 'cash in on your passion'.. although this could be a result and is exactly what happend to Gary himself.. but there are not tips and trick about how to make money here, but only on building your brand and sharing your passion.. which could lead to money if thats what YOU want, you decide.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2010
I bought this book, fully expecting a riveting read - but got the usual "self promotional" tripe, full of "how I made my millions" cliches, and thin promises. Honestly... its got no more detailed than; get a blog, get an audience, and hope some "faceless" corp will give u money for adspace...

Save your money. tip 1
Dont buy this book. tip 2

If you read this article, and take my two tips, you'll be slightly richer, and vastly happier you didnt buy this rubbish. You are smarter than this book. I promise you that.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2009
Reading this book is like having Gary Vee in your living room giving your own special keynote speech. This book takes on the same style as his video blogs, which is a refreshing change. Many more people should learn to write the way that they talk.

I was looking forward to reading this book and I can proudly say that it didn't disappoint. I'll add my own quote here "Closed minds miss opportunities." If you don't buy this book, you are missing out on a great opportunity.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2010
To be honest, when I bought this book it was more out of curiosity, as there appeared to be a great number of positive comments about it so I was intrigued.

Anyway from the time I opened the packaging and opened it to the first page I couldn't put the book down and read it in one sitting, and so enthused by what I read, I immediately sent an e-mail to the author and to his credit, he responded.

This book is the reality of working in a 21st-century, after all, we are all living in an information thirsty age, and our knowledge will be the traded commodity.

Read the book, and more importantly, put it in action.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2015
Excellent and easy to read. Gary is clearly very passionate about his business and a fervent supporter of the vast, varied and free social media platforms to promote brand awareness. He compels you to share your passion and build your brand through the endless reaches of social media networks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)