Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
17
4.1 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 September 2011
If there had been an option for three and a half stars, that would have been about right....three stars - too low, four stars - a little too high.

However, i found it quite an intersting read, with a full expose on his childhood, teenage years, and all the way to his successes as head of GBP.
Oscar is not afraid to reveal his frailties, and shortcomings which always endears a boxer to the reader.
One troubling message that i am left with, is his eagerness to inform us of his many charitable foundations and the work he does for the underpriviliged.
Most sports stars, only gently mention they are involved with various charities, but here we are given full chapter and verse of all his donations, foundations, schools, scholarships....the list is endless.

However, he is a nice guy, and i am left with the thought...."that is what i was meant to think".

If you want a five stars boxing read....try, Johnny Tapia, Chris Eubank or Teddy Atlas.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2012
I'm an avid boxing fan, was looking for some light reading and came across this book. It's not the most well written book, but "The Golden Boy's" story is an interesting one. From his youth as an amateur sparring Julio Cesar Chavez to Olympic glory. Culminating in his fight with Floyd Mayweather Jr. the book is an interesting tale of one of modern boxings most well known fighters.

The downsides of this book are De la Hoya's tendency to have excuses for literally all of his professional losses and poor performances, while purposefully leaving out times when he had questionable decision wins (Felix Sturm, Pernell Whitaker)

Also, the book took nearly two months to arrive, I'm from Ireland and this was being shipped from the US. No matter what way you look at it, two months is a bit much!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
Its fair to say that Oscar De La Hoya is not your typical boxer, and this is not your typical boxing autobiography. There are no stories of impoverished childhood or violence just a fairly honest account of his rather ordinary upbringing. The only difference being that the sport of boxing was something that ran in his family history and from an early age he had a natural talent for it.
His image has always been that of boxings clean cut, respectable, nice guy and nothing in this book suggests anything other than that.
Which would make for a rather dull story, but the level of his success and the mainstream fame and fortune he's achieved are points that create enough interest to save the book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2010
I enjoyed this book, Oscar tells of all his vunerabilities and his failings, he doesnt try to create a picture of himself as the perfect man. tells us of his life away from the ring as well as in it. excellent book, just about the only one i managed to read in one day.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2012
I am a real De La Hoya fan, but have to admit, having read many Boxing Biographies, I wouldn't say this was the best I've read.
Was ok and is worth a read, but I think there are more exciting reads from the world of Boxing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
Boring back story to someone who I thought would have an interesting life. His recent actions somewhat contradict what he says in the book and taints it a little.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2016
Excellent Service & Book Thank You.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2010
I wasn't expect much from this book as I suspected that De La Hoya will want to maintain his public persona. I didn't find much that made me raise my interest level.

I was impressed with his honesty where he admited that Felix Sturm had beaten him and was gracious enough to tell Sturm after the fight.

He opens the books with a number of chapters about his family life that I found of minor interest. His amatuer career was well documented and very intersting as he describes how he put on gloves at 4 years old and takes up the sport proper at 6 years.

The fights in the amateurs are described in some detail but his pro career is not given the same attention

The chapter on Chazez revealed little about the fights and more a slight resentment that he was in the Mexicans shadow for a long period and never got his adoration in Mexico.

He did have fueds with Vargas and Mayorga and these may have spiced the book up a bit but generally it was a sanatised skip through his career. Very sheened and superficial.

The Golden Boy Promotions element is almost like a commercial as the stratgic corporate agenda is unvieled. The recent controversy about Amir Khans purse split plus the favoured relationship with HBO seem slightly inconsistant with the blurb.

All in all I found this a lightwight book and not easy to recomend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2010
I bought this for son for xmas. He is a keen boxing fan and said that the bookmwas a really interesting read
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2017
Top quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)