Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 May 2017
Extremely interesting and compelling argument for there to have been a designer to create and facilitate life in all its complexity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2015
Signature in the cell is an incisively analytical publication, which worth reading. It bring out many factors which too many learned timidly hide because of the ridicule they may attract from their colleagues etc. One should never deny the truth about our origins. an excellent book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2017
Fascinating insight into the living cell.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
Once, at school (a long long time ago) when we were discussing evolution as a process, I asked my biology teacher that if Darwin was right how could a Gannet develop such a beautiful, artistic head and beak, which looked to all intents and purposes as though it had been painted and shaded by an artist.
I was unpolitely told not to bother with 'that type of thinking' which was tantamount to pseudoscience. The class laughed, and we moved on.
I've been deeply interested in intelligent design ever since.

What makes this book so interesting is the way the author drills right down into the complexities of the building blocks of life, and goes to great lengths to explain just how impossible it would be for DNA to develop randomly, as Darwin, and current science would have us believe.

The numbers involved to allow the random development of DNA defy description, and this short review just couldn't do his work justice.
Rather than focussing me on say, the complexities of the human eye, as other authors have done, the author showed me, page by page, number by number how much design at a molecular level just can't be a random act, it reeks of intelligence. And he did it by involving me all the way. At no stage did I feel lost in a sea of sciencespeak whilst I read this book, his writing style is not only exacting and precise, but also totally involving.
A great read if you are a seeker of information on ID.
Hope this helped.
55 Comments| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
This book is ideal for those spiritually seeking or spiritually skeptical. Debra Rufini - Author of 'The Artist's Page.'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2015
I have just finished reading Intelligent Design, it is not so intelligent after all to the open minded readers with or without scientific background.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
I suggest this is essential reading for anyone interested in the evolution/intelligent design debate.

For the evolutionist, who claims the theory of evolution is 'science', since any scientific theory must show it is the best of all possible explanations and it cannot possibly be known any theory is the best until a fair look is taken at all the alternatives, here is the perfect book to examine 'the other side'. This book is a thorough explanation of the biggest problem for evolution - the appearance of the first living cell and the complex information within it that enables its existence (without which the process of evolution could never take place).

For those who accept intelligent design, it is a comprehensive explanation of the scientific evidence for this, from a University professor who has spent many years researching and discussing the origin of life with many of the top names from both sides of the debate, in the UK and USA.

For someone unused to reading the technicalities of how a cell is made up and functions, some of it may be heavy going - but most of the explanations are accessible to anyone of average intelligence and the technical sections can be skipped over.

Stephen Meyer gives an interesting insight into the history of how the makeup of the living cell was gradually discovered, and quotes from the latest research in showing the falacies that evolutionists have used in order to prop up this theory, which he shows, step by logical step, to be unscientific and impossible.

I would wholeheartedly recommend the book.

However, there is a big minus! As with many books of this type, there are very many end-notes; and while most of them are simple references to the source of the quotations in the main text, there are many that are explanatory notes, amplifying the text to which the notes are affixed. Usually in a Kindle book, these notes can be accessed by pressing on the note number, which jumps you to the note. Then, by pressing on 'BACK' you are returned to the text. However, in this book the note numbers do not have any built-in function. So the only way to access the notes is by putting a bookmark in them, and when you want to read one, putting a bookmark in the text where you are, getting the drop-down menu to access the bookmarks, go to the one you want, put in a new bookmark for the next note after removing the old bookmark, getting the drop-down menu to go back to the text, remove the bookmark you put there, and continue reading. It is a real hassle, and at the price asked for this book, one I would not expect to come across.

However, there's another snag: sometimes (perhaps about 1 in 10 times) after returning to the text, when trying to go to the next page, it would either be blank or have skipped one or two pages. Pressing to go back a page takes me back to where I've just come from. Trying to get it to go to the next page is a real struggle once this has happened. There is clearly something wrong in the software either of the book itself, in the Kindle reader for an Android tablet, or in my tablet. However this has never happened in any other Kindle book I've read: on the other hand I've never had to skip between bookmarks in this way before either!

So these two problems make reading the book on my Tablet pretty hopeless. In the laptop version of Kindle it is possible to have the bookmarks permanently on display down the side, so is much easier to navigate backwards and forwards, and the problem of missing pages does not occur. But it's a real pain to have to use the laptop to read the book when it would be so much easier to use my Android tablet.

Finally, the illustrations are not in the correct place in the text. So, depending on the size of font one has chosen, it can be several pages after the illustration has been mentioned that it appears: by which time the text is talking about something else!

I think it is a very poor job on the part of whoever put the text of this book into Kindle format that they didn't bother to provide proper end-note navigation and didn't put the illustrations where they should be; and the first problem is a real set-back to anyone wanting to read it using a tablet or Kindle reader, and the second is there whatever the platform one uses.

So to sum up, it's definitely five stars for the contents of this book, but only one star out of five for the presentation: hence the three stars I have given to it. However, I still say, absolutely, that this book is well worth buying and reading, in spite of the end-note and illustration problems - it's such a shame that they are there!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2009
I have really enjoyed reading this book.

It is an account of Meyers intellectual journey and why he is convinced of ID.
Sometimes books like this can be difficult to read. This one is not. I found it very enjoyable and his insights facinating.

I have to say that I find his arguments for ID pretty convincing.
I am assuming the one star reviewers either read a different book or maybe (but this couldn't be true could it) have an agenda and a difficult position to defend.

Look out for more so called "junk DNA" turning out to do important things as we learn more...

If you are interested in ID this is a great read.
If you are still making your mind up this is one of the better books on ID.
If you are against ID - then maybe don't bother it will just annoy you, as it's a good well argued reason to accept ID.
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2016
Very comprehensive a but little long winded. Well thought out arguments but some opportunities to drive home the point were missed. I agreed with 90 pc. of what was said.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2016
Very readable and very, very interesting. I agree with the author. ID is the best explanation. Great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)