Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 2 February 2018
OK, it takes years to practice and is not really accurate in determining deception but I'm not an criminal investigator. With some practice, I can identify certain over indulgent behaviours on my part as well as threat awareness, cons, and complete amateur BS.

It also brings a new dimension to people watching. Some of the tells are incredibly accurate once you know what to look for.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 December 2015
I've studied body language all my life. I've just used it to get rid of my latest manager,This book will give an insight into what to look for, but you can go much deeper yourself. Read and learn where to start.. It's amazing once you master it. !0 minutes with a total stranger and you can tell what their sex life is like. I used it as a driving instructor, with devastating results ! And they all passed ! A good book once it envelopes you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 May 2015
Even if this is nothing more that a book, what you get here is a clear guide to start your journey.What I really appreciated about the author is that he doesn't sell you any "truth"... it is up to you to test, and adapt. But he gives a concrete method that helps a lot on the way. Body language is not a secret trick that will tell you what someone else is thinking, but more often than not, it helps you reading what other don't want!!

On the other hand, I wouldn't recommend Joe Navarros other book: "Louder than Words", which is just meaningless a repetition.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 January 2017
An excellent start to learning about body language. Will teach you the basics and covers the whole body with photo examples. It's also good for people who want to brush up on their basic knowledge. I definitely still learnt a lot though
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 December 2010
When dealing with people, you quickly learn that they don't always say what they mean and often don't tell the truth. There are a number of key things that many people know instictively, but this book takes it a bit further.

It's based upon the experience of someone that has spent a career interviewing people and has therefore had the chance to refine his skills. The book is well written, has some useful pictures to illustrate key points and many of the points are enhanced by the use of an anecdote or two to clarify the issue.

It's a good book to read, a useful book to have access to, and one that would be of value to anyone that works in an environment where they deal with people on a daily basis.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2016
Bought for my own personal reading and fascination of body language and what people say when they're not actually saying anything.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 January 2011
I'm firmly a novice within the field of reading body language; in fact, this is the first book I've read on the subject - and it was brilliant.

The book is well structured, each section focusing on the language of a different part of the body. The main text is easily understood and gives you lots of useful information, but the real value of this book comes in the extras. There are multiple places throughout the book where boxes either contain a anecdote from his life that places the technique he's describing into a context that's really helped me know how to use what he's describing and when. Also, there are multiple pictures of the body-language he's describing meaning even if you don't understand what he's describing, you'll instantly "get" it when you see the picture.

This book has not suddenly turned me into a speed-reading wizard, and it will take patience, practice and multiple reads if you want to get the most of it. But even if you can't be sure you'll put the effort into it, it's a fascinating read that may well hook you into seeing what you can read.

I also purchased a couple similar books with this one, and I can say that they all correlate pretty closely suggesting that this book is correct in what it's saying. However if you're not content with that then the book has a full bibliography where he cites all the studies he refers to, so you can verify the accuracy yourself.

Overall, a brilliant read, even if your interest in body language is only fleeting, and if you get into it and practice it I can say that only a short time after reading it you'll find it will start to help you in day-to-day life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2014
I have to begin saying that this is the first book I have read about body language, but to me it seems that the book
globally did not fail to meet my expectations.
I found particularly convincing the chapter about detecting lies, The author stresses that, despite being the most interesting field where his techniques can be applied, it is also the most difficult one. Scientific references seem to me appropriate: there is no more self-citation or self promotion respect to a standard scientific paper.
Like every manual, this book has to be read and re-read and skills have to be practiced in order to master them. At first read, it can seem that many observation are just common sense. But remembering them and being able to apply them in the context makes the difference, and this is why this book is useful. One star less for the advertisement-like statements scattered throughout the book, like "Using this knowledge will help you stand out among others", which contrasts with the general honest approach of the matter: they were probably more appropriate on the back cover, which is normally what people read before buying the book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 June 2015
This is a fascinating book both from a personal perspective and a professional one. There can be no greater skill in life than being able to read the people you are interacting with and I feel better equipped to do just that after a reading this book. Finding out which part of the body is most honest would be one of its highlights. I would certainly recommend a read, especially if you are in a profession with a high focus on interpersonal skills.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2016
Some people might find this very useful! Buy this books for anyone who is constantly getting caught out or lied to, it will help them.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)