Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 August 2017
Theories abound, It is interesting requires full concentration
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
Still reading this but so far so good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2017
very nice book to read...I tiny bit scientific but the content is great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2017
I really enjoyed this book. Not too deep but informative and interesting. Also enjoyed the style of writing, easy and flowing. For a science book I found it to be a page turner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2017
Great book! Loved what they explain about homeopathy. I've been taking it and makes a huge difference for me and it's interesting to know how it works.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2016
A remarkable read! Mind-blowing new scientific research into reality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2010
The book was delivered in time for me to wrap it for my wife's birthday. She likes the book a lot, aside from finding it a bit heavy going in some areas - It has a lot of scientific stuff in it. My turn next then.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
I acquired this book on a tip of a collegue who claimde 'it clarified a lot' and 'helped to understand life' in general. A lot of mumbo-jumbo IMHO.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2012
Lynne McTaggert pitches a lot of long held beliefs against research and documented evidence of Quantum Physics and its revolution on science. For example:
* Man is isolated from the world V's People are indivisible from their environment
* The brain is the seat of consciousness V's Living consciousness is not an isolated entity
* The human being is a survival machine powered by genetic coding V's Cells and DNA communicate through frequencies

McTaggart describes with valid scientific research the existence of an energy field acknowledged as a mere afterthought by modern science called a Zero-Point Field (ZPF). It stands to reason, that if the universe is bathed in a sea of energy, it is only logical to assume that everything in the entire cosmos is connected by its very immersion in it.

McTaggart may have intended to unearth the question of a "life force". She may have wanted us to question ourselves and how we connect with the ZPF and she may also have wanted us to ask does this coalesce of energy connect God and Science?

She wanted to get across the fact that science is on the brink of a revolution and help the reader realize that the old paradigm of Newton's foundation for science is not the complete puzzle. She wanted to impart some knowledge of quantum physics and how that can show us that there is more to the universe than just what is physical, that everything including cells and DNA have a wave frequency and everything is connected by this ZPF.

McTaggart believes that this scientific revolution will forever end the concept of dualism.

McTaggart explores ZPF as a source of explanation for a variety of scientific mysteries unanswerable with the paradigm of Newton's foundation for science.

First is in the area of human biology, where the near-instantaneous communication of bodily functions cannot be accounted for by chemical reactions alone. McTaggart very elegantly demonstrates that our DNA has the ability to emit different wave frequencies of light that serve to instantly synchronize our biological systems like a conductor of a symphony.

She goes on to explain how homeopathy works in lieu of using the "cohesive" capabilities of water as a recording medium for light frequencies associated with certain drugs. This hypothesis is all possible with the existence of the ZPF.

McTaggart also ventures to explain how David Bohm and Karl Pribram's Holographic Model ties in beautifully with ZPF and together help explain the ability of the brain to process information non-locally in a process called "Superradiance", another example of the cohesion in light.

She believes that this revolution has forever ended the concept of dualism. For example the ancient forces of yin-yang arise from a belief in dualism, a state in which the universe is seemingly equally divided into two opposing but equal forces. In this view, the universe depends on the interaction between these two forces which arise from the Tao. The word Tao has no exact English translation, but it relates most closely to the Western idea of wholeness, to the unknowable unity of the divine.

However the shortcomings are as follows:

She doesn't' discuss the origin of this huge amount of energy - The divine energy, `God' or the source.

She doesn't seem to think nature could be clever enough to have two paradigms of energetic communication. Is the gap between subatomic quantum energy effects and large-scale macro systems like our brain too large to bridge? I think more research is needed in this area.

Then there's the power of the consciousness, can we say that the universe intended my wife, Theresa, to have a brain tumor?

Furthermore, how about the many times mentioned in this book, the semi-blind physicist and ZPF advocate, Russel Targ? Why did not he get some sort of help the hands of highly effective "healer"?

And then there's the collective power of intention and its effect on the universe. For example, for many years millions of people have prayed for the people in Africa and for the draught in the environment to change, yet the weather stays the same and the famines persist. Collective conscious intention does not help much in his case.

Although I love this book McTaggart fails to be objective about these areas and is extremely one-sided in her approach to this whole subject. She gives no weight (or totally fails to mention) the failed experiments where many of the more `exotic' or cutting edge experiments have not been replicated elsewhere.

This book serves as an excellent book to get to grips with the fundamentals of invisible energy in which McTaggart calls the ZPF. It also serves an excellent wake-up call for the scientific world by showing the decreasing gap between science and "spirit," It ties together cutting edge science and serves as an excellent introduction to the subject.

This book is very thought provoking. A paragraph on page 225 pretty much sums up the book. It states:

"The communication of the world did not occur in the visible realm of Newton, but in the subatomic world of Werner Heisenberg. Cells and DNA communicated through frequencies. The brain perceived and made its own record of the world in pulsating waves. A substructure underpins the universe that is essentially a recording medium of everything, providing a means of everything to communicate with everything else. People are indivisible from their environment. Living consciousness is not an isolated entity. It increases order in the rest of the world. The consciousness of human beings has incredible powers, to heal ourselves, to heal the world -- in a sense, to make it as we wish it to be."

In short, I will continue to use the basic field model in my personal and professional life. In my opinion everything is interrelated and consists of energy and vibrations. We can affect our environment with or conscious and unconscious thoughts. Our minds and souls are very powerful parts of our whole system which are often overlooked. The body, the mind and the soul remain intact and connected as long as we are alive. We must remember to take care of each of these three parts individually to make sure our life is whole and healthy.
33 Comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This book examines developments at the frontiers of science. Schroedinger, Heisenberg, Bohr and Pauli were the pioneers of quantum physics, but numerous scientists in various disciplines have been conducting experiments that reveal profound new possibilities in our view of the universe. The author investigates the work of those scientists who are at the cutting edge of exploration, all with reference to the life force, universal energy field or Zero Point Field, an ocean of microscopic vibrations. It would appear that evidence is mounting that the universe is one vast quantum field.

Part One: The Resonating Universe, looks at the work of amongst others, Rupert Sheldrake, Fritz Albert Popp, Robert O Becker, Jacques Benveniste and Karl Pribram. The theory of the universe as a collection of resonating frequencies is here examined. Part Two: The Extended Mind, explores the work of inter alia Helmut Schmidt, Jahn & Dunne and Puthoff & Targ. The topics include nonlocality, remote influence and viewing, dreams, clairvoyance, ESP, precognition, the nature of time and how the observer influences the observed, like quantum particles.

Part Three: Tapping into the Field, deals with the experiments of for example Elisabeth Targ and her positive findings of remote healing in AIDS cases, and the work of William Braud, Dean Radin and Roger Nelson. The concept of collective consciousness is fascinating. The speculations include the possibility that negative consciousness is like a germ that infects large numbers of people and could produce evil like the Inquisition, Hitler and the Salem Witch Trial.

On the other hand, positive consciousness might give rise to great periods in history, like the Renaissance and many benign popular trends. The question of the existence of emotional and intellectual synchronicity is addressed here. McTaggart also looks at developments in artificial intelligence and considers how these recent discoveries might influence the future. They are hinting at an immense human potential, validating alternative medicine and confirming some mythical and religious beliefs. The author believes that this scientific revolution has forever ended the concept of dualism.

The book contains notes by chapter, a vast bibliography and an index. McTaggart has performed a great service by making the research of a large number of scientists known to a wide popular audience. Sometimes the reading pleasure is lost in the overly detailed descriptions of various experiments and their preparation. Also, the physical descriptions of the scientists under discussion are often a bit irritating and unnecessary, although it might have been done to keep the narrative accessible and conversational.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)