Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
9
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
1
3 star
4
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 July 2007
I have rarely come across such a well written, amusing and fascinating tale evoking all the senses one associates with Italy and more particularly Sicily.A must for anyone travelling to Sicily. Seller Manzo deserves high praise for this her first book and I am looking forward to the next one.
It is sad that it cannot yet be found in our UK book shops.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2007
Caroline Seller Manzo is a much-travelled Brit who married into a large and eccentric Sicilian family. This is the fascinating tale of how she and her husband struggled - with and, occasionally, against the family - to convert their part of a dilapidated villa-cum-castle into a home and a magnificent-looking holiday option for those who want to sample Sicilian culture. It is beautifully written, replete with cultural insights and highly amusing. It will resonate with all those who've moved into a Mediterranean culture. Especially with anyone who's been foolhardy enough to take on a building project in one of these. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2008
This book is significantly more than a labour of love, although that it undoubtedly is. With fine literary style, supported by deep reservoirs of classical knowledge, Seller Manzo also provides us with a fine sweep of Sicilian culture, history and traditions. Never desceding into bathos, Seller Manzo avoids cultural stereotyping and instead paints a rich and vivid portrait of all-things-Sicilian. A rigorous yet sensitive handling of this dramatic island, the book is a highly informative (as well as entertaining) read.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2012
It took me ages to get into this book and I picked it up and put it down a lot. I got about half way and gave up because I felt there was just something missing. Mainly that there is not much mention of her relationship with her husband or much romance, he almost seems to be superfluous, compared to the rest of his family.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2008
A thoroughly enjoyable, well-written insight into life in Sicily. Highly recommended to all, particularly anyone with an interest in, or about to visit Sicily. Looking forward to the next work by this excellent author.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
Perhaps I have read too many of this type of book but I found that this one didn't hold my attention. I thought it was very put downable and I didn't rush to pick it up again. On the plus side, it gave great insight into Sicilian family life but it lacked that little extra something.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
Not great writing not great exposition , but a nice little read nonetheless, the author married into the family and has written as an outsider from the U. K. From that angle the book is an interesting tale
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
this was not quite what i expected but an interesting history of one family, it was well written and made you want to finish the book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2011
Have only just started reading this - had a job getting 'in' to it, but maybe that's because I was under the weather. It's very interesting though and had photo's.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)