Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 May 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
Not a bad book, but a little complex, also the author has not considered the effect that the 'case studies' may have on readers and some may act as a trigger to people when they are reading the book. Try reading 'Addicted to Internet Porn' by Ivan Mcveigh first then read this book if you thing you need more information, but I would skip the 'case studies'.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2011
If you are worried by your Porn addiction, or, just as likely, your partner is addicted, this is an excellent way of getting to grips with just how serious the addiction is.
Dont take the addicts bluff or bluster as an explanation. The roots of this addiction are deep, and unless stopped and treated, a miserable life is in store for the addict and his/her partner
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2011
I bought this book for my youngest Brother who has indeed it seems, been trapped into regular use of pornographic material which he now views as a problem.
As he also has a drinking problem, he cannot get help for it before he addresses his drinking but the cause of his drinking IS the porn, so he is stuck in this vicious circle, feeling totally ashamed and alone.
I felt pretty helpless but really wanted to help him, so I turned to trusty Amazon, with not only it's huge choice of titles but it's utter discreetness !
My Brother is progressing well with the book and says it's like being taken seriously for the first time.
It is practically & sensibly written & allows the reader to progress at their own pace but with enlightenment & honesty.
Fab, Fab, Fab - Thanks Amazon !!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
This book helped me to understand the true extent of this dreadfully destructive addiction. If anyone you know is affected, this book will help you, calm you, and enable you to assist as best you can.Thank you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2011
Really good read, it made a lot of sense !! Defiantly helped me and my partner. Probably more useful for the more addicted, but still eye-opening and good to see how things can spiral out of control.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 June 2016
This is a well-written and interesting book, which proposes 'solutions' to the problems caused by pornography. It is intended as a recovery guide, written by two sex therapists who take as the premise of their work that porn (being readily and instantly available) is a "destructive force" in today's society. And so they offer a programme to 'heal' from what they call 'porn addiction'.

While I enjoyed reading this book, I am unconvinced by both the arguments and the conclusions presented by the authors. They fail to adequately demonstrate that 'pornography' is addictive. Rather, they tend to assume that porn addition exists - as view it as similar (in its negative effects) as, say, alcoholism. Simply because porn is made regular use of, and is so easily accessible, does not mean that it is addictive. Yes, it's true that usage of internet porn has dramatically increased in recent years. But so too has internet shopping! The reason is simple: the internet is a contemporary phenomenon, and its technology is improving all the time - making all aspects of its usage become more regularly accessible.

From reading the available literature, and adopting a critical and sceptical approach (as is required in science), I tend to view the "problem" of pornography as socially constructed. Use of porn has been identified, defined, given meaning and acted on as if it were a problem. On that basis, it is believed that intervention or regulation is required. And so the Maltz's present their claims regarding this problem. But their book about 'solutions' is preceded by a particular understanding - their way of labelling things. To view porn as a problem is not an obvious or neutral stance, but is ideologically motivated - and the sorts of solutions being proposed are bound-up with how porn is constructed. To properly understand the Maltz's form of knowledge - concerning porn being viewed as an 'issue' warranting investigation and, in turn, being acted upon - would require delving into the discourse within which their ideas are situation (which isn't possible here). To summarise, the authors of this book base their work on a particular meaning of porn - and that meaning shapes how they choose to act upon porn. Yet the particular meaning they attach to porn is problematic and contested. Their 'expert' knowledge is necessarily embedded in a definite social, political and cultural context - which sends a clear message: that porn users are somehow lesser human or deficient. This has, I would suggest, dangerous implications - as the Maltz's endeavour to create a society in which sexual freedom is reduced and non-porn use is considered the norm.

This book invites debate - which is what books ought to do. On that basis, I highly recommend it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2016
Difficult book to read. I am reading it as the partner of a man who is a porn addict, ,we are at the begining of the journey. Thus book was recommended to us. Difficult becasue of the emotions involved but worth sticking with it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2013
Very useful book. Makes one think they are not alone. A very good self help book. Will certainly help going forward
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2017
I have been addicted to porn for most of my life. I am currently in a twelve step program with SAA . This book is a must for anyone suffering from this terrible addiction. It has allowed me to forgive myself and understand how I got to become an addict. A MUST for anyone wanting get their life back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)