Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
22
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 December 2015
Enjoyable!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2008
"Vampire Interrupted" carries on directly after the previous book, "Vampires Are Forever", and in fact some of the events in this book relate to those in the previous. "Vampires Are Forever" featured Thomas Argeneau who had been sent to look for his aunt Marguerite who has gone missing whilst working as a detective and trying to find the mother of Christian Notte who had hired her. In "Vampire Interrupted" we see events from Marguerite's point of view as she travels to England and from London to York in search of the story of Christian's past.

This reader had felt that the Argeneau series was getting a little tired and formulaic with the books basically rehashing the same plot devices (woman is turned into vampire by Argeneau man, has to learn to live with the new life, decides she loves the hero). "Vampire Interrupted" is a rather different book and this is a great mark in its favour. For once both hero and heroine are already vampires, are in fact old vampires with children and long histories. In this story Marguerite finds herself under attack from a mystery assailant as she, along with mortal private detective Tiny, tries to follow historical clues to Christian Notte's origins. She knows already that Christian's father Julius won't tell him about his mother, instead Julius has managed to frighten off every previous detective from the hunt, and sure enough Julius appears on the scene in London. Yet things are rather different and he doesn't try to prevent Marguerite and Tiny's searching, instead he goes with them as they travel to York to try to find out more.

It soon becomes clear that events in Marguerite's past may contain the answer to some of her questions as well as causing her to mistrust Julius when she finds herself drawn to him. There are some unexpected plot directions in this book that worked really well, even the 'baddie' was a surprise and yet very plausible. The story of two older people trying to put aside their cumulative life experiences to learn to trust each other was very well written and the conclusion was wrapped up nicely. This is definitely one of the better stories in this series and undoubtedly will appeal to Lynsay Sands' fans.

Originally published for Curled Up With A Good Book © Helen Hancox 2008
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2008
I've recently read Lynsay Sands last three Argeneau books and have really enjoyed each one. This continues from and is mentioned in the previous book Vampires Are Forever when Thomas and Inez are looking for Marguerite Argeneau. The previous book had an unfinished story which is answered in this book. Marguerite has appeared in most of the other books and is known as a matchmaker when it is coming to help with lifemates. This book is all about Marguerite and her lifemate and has an interesting twist to it which is quite clever. I'm sure everyone who has read this series will enjoy this novel.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2009
I loved this book and I'm so glad I bought it. The protagonist of this story is Marguerite Argeneau. After the death of her husband Jean-Claude she has finally been released from his cruel spell and is determined to finally experience life. After agreeing to find Christine Notte's mother her and Tiny find themselves in London continuing the search but so far with no luck. Or so they think for it seems they are close enough for someone to have grown worried as Marguerite finds herself at the wrong end of a sword. Escaping, but only just, it begs the question of why someone would want to hurt her.
In all the chaos our second main character Julius Notte appears. Upon seeing Marguerite he knows them to be life mates but is he hiding something? Marguerite has no idea and Julius needs to bring her round to the idea which is easier said then done. After Jean-Claude's cruelty she has become wary of relationships never wanting to be in situation again. Not only does Julius have to make her see that not all relationships are based on cruelty but also to try and keep her safe when the assassination attempts continue. Who could be behind the attacks and what do they have to do with the case?

Twists and turns throughout keeping you guessing until the very end. It's brilliant to finally get Marguerite's story after her playing match maker in all the other books to her children it was great to finally seeing her in their positions for once, swept off her feet and her battle to throw off Jean-Claude's cruel hold. I highly recommend this book if you were a fan of the others you wont be disappointed!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2010
Vampire, Interrupted. It tells the story of Marguerite Argeneau, a 700-year-old vampire. After the death of her husband, she is relishing her new-found freedom and has decided to begin a career as a private investigator. Her first task, track down Christian Notte's father and convince him to give up the name of his son's mother.

However, things are far from simple. Christian's father, Julius Notte, has loved Marguerite for a long time - a very long time. When she turns up on his doorstep, demanding answers to very sensitive questions, it's clear that something is wrong. They were so close, yet she doesn't recognise him.

As he slowly fits the pieces of the puzzle back together, Julian believes he can find a way to help Marguerite and hopefully rekindle their long-lost love. However, he must do it quickly, because someone clearly doesn't want his family history to be revealed, as the attacks on Marguerite have indicated. Can Julius, Marguerite, Christian and their friends work out what's going on and put a stop to it, before it's too late?

Vampire, Interrupted was, on the whole, a good read. It was fast-paced and very erotic in places. The storyline was excellent too
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2011
Finally we have Marguerite's story and this book follows the same events as Vampires are forever but from Marguerite's point of view. Marguerite is on her first case as a P.I. with mortal partner Tiny. She has been employed by Christian Notte to find out who his mother is - a detail his father Julius refuses to divulge even after 500 years.

This book follows the investigation and the subsequent attacks on Marguerite - attempts to stop the mystery being solved? This book was truly fantastic! - Lynsay sand's best for a while. I won't reveal anything more about the plot because I don't want to spoil it - I was hooked from chapter one and couldn't put it down. It is fast-paced and packed full of unexpected twists and turns right until the very end and I was left hanging on every word. The events from the last book now make sense, the revelations were shocking and yet made perfect sense, the romance between Marguerite and Julius was great and all the surrounding characters added to the brilliance of this book.

Absolutely loved it! Highly recommended! This one's a keeper!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2010
Maguerite was the one character in Lyndsey Sands Argeneau novels that I most wanted to reread about. After an abusive marriage Marguerite has embraced modern life. Surrounded by her loving family she decides it is time she became an independant woman - with a career! With the help of Tiny, her human associate, she plans to become a Private Investigator. Her first job is to find the mother Immortal Christian Notte has never known. From the very first scene when Christian's father Julius bursts in to "rescue" her I was hooked! Julius refuses to help his son find his mother. Arrogant and autocratic he is just the sort of man Marguerite does not want in her life. What secret is he hiding? Gradually the past Marguerite had forgotten resurfaces putting her life at risk.I first read this in the library and when I started reading the new books I really wanted to read this again and it did not disappoint!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2010
The Argeneau Vampire books were beginning to get a bit blah... until this one. Far and away the best in the series (both before and after) it is a breath of fresh air with an interesting plot, brilliant protagonists and a great twist in the tale. Marguerite makes a wonderful heroine and you can almost feel the centuries behind her in her matter of fact approach to everything life (and death) throws at her put against her complete inability to appreciate either herself or how important she is to her family. I am selling the rest of the series online - this one is a keeper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
The book arrived as it was described and delivered when estimated which is always good. The book is a fab read especially if you have read all the books before this book. I would recommend telling people about this book and coming to amazon to buy this book and others because you get a great online service which is safe and reliable!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 February 2010
Being the fan of all things vampire that I am, it's pretty surprising that I'd never read a Lynsay Sands novel before. I'd heard of her, naturally, but there are so many books and so little time...

Anyway, our paths crossed eventually and I read Vampire, Interrupted. It tells the story of Marguerite Argeneau, a 700-year-old vampire. After the death of her husband, she is relishing her new-found freedom and has decided to begin a career as a private investigator. Her first task, track down Christian Notte's father and convince him to give up the name of his son's mother.

However, things are far from simple. Christian's father, Julius Notte, has loved Marguerite for a long time - a very long time. When she turns up on his doorstep, demanding answers to very sensitive questions, it's clear that something is wrong. They were so close, yet she doesn't recognise him.

As he slowly fits the pieces of the puzzle back together, Julian believes he can find a way to help Marguerite and hopefully rekindle their long-lost love. However, he must do it quickly, because someone clearly doesn't want his family history to be revealed, as the attacks on Marguerite have indicated. Can Julius, Marguerite, Christian and their friends work out what's going on and put a stop to it, before it's too late?

Vampire, Interrupted was, on the whole, a good read. It was fast-paced and very erotic in places. The storyline was excellent too. My only criticism was the number of characters. I found it quite difficult to keep track of all the characters, particularly as some of them had similar names. Several times I had to go back and check who was who. I believe there's a family tree in the paperback, but I read this as an e-book, and it didn't display. Other than that, though, a fab book. I'd definitely read more of Lynsay Sands' books - particularly in this series - as I suspect there's lots more to learn about the dozens of characters!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse