Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars
7
3.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.62+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 March 2008
Last year I first read Lisa Marie Rice's MIDNIGHT RUN. I was head over heel in love with the hero/heroine's characters and the hot sex scenes, and even decided that no one else wrote a better or hotter love scene than she. So I was really looking forward to reading this new book of hers. What a let down it is! The sex is still hot but not as tender,loving or creative as MIDNIGHT RUN.

The suspense part is a bit repetitive; you keep reading about how the bad guy found out about the heroine's importance to the hero, or how he knew about the hero's obsession with her. But this knowledge was not pertinent to the plot. You know that he wanted to hurt the hero by getting at the heroine but why did he need to resort to talking to heroine's ex-boyfriend to do just that? If he wanted to lie to the heroine, he could just show up, brandishing a FBI agent's ID and make up the story without her ex-bf's help. Well, it is deplorable that the suspense takes up half of the book but is not interesting or even plausible.

The biggest let down is the end. It feels rushed and contrived. A reader spends most of the time learning how the hero/heroine/villain/ex-boyfriend felt and thought in the first three hundred pages, which is the most part of the book. But the Happy-Ever-After ending is so short that it takes only two pages or can be described as none-existent. There is no word and detail about the hero/heroine's life after their ordeal.

Well, will I ever read another Lisa Marie Rice's work? I would say I will give it a rest for a little while.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2012
I thought LMR alpha hero was great. I loved Jack Prescott. He was dominating and an unrepentant alpha. From the start of the story it was clear that Jack would die rather than cause Caroline any harm.

Caroline accepts Jack as a boarder. He strategizes ensuring that the bonds that develop between them leave little chance that she'll kick him out of her life. But this guy is not in control, not really. It's Caroline who has the power over him. Jack doesn't believe she could ever love him.

Caroline is vulnerable but strong and Jack understands this perfectly and the courage she shows after facing the death of her parents after a road accident watching her brother dying after caring for him for 6 years.

I thoughty LMR createsd a very good suspense and sub plot and the villain was evil.

Yes there were some minor flaws. She went overboard with her brand dropping and a number of times she listed what someone bought or what someone ate in such minute detail to the extent it became boring. I did'nt think this was necessary or enhanced the story. The ending was abrupt and whilst I was not looking for a mammoth epilogue I thought LMR could have put more thought into the conclusion.

I have given this 5 stars as overall I loved the story and LMR kept me transfixed from beginning to end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
It was ok. 2.5 stars rounded up to 3

Tbh, in the first couple of chapters, I was thinking, there is a fine line between a long lasting unrequited love, and quite frankly stalkerish behaviour!

I am not sure Jack did not tip over into slightly scary stalker behaviour here.

Caroline Lake, the woman Jack had loved since he was 18, and had not seen in 12 years, so basically, his entire adult life.

Her life has changed over 12 years, she had lost her family and the life she had with her family, and is barely struggling by.

Luckily, Jack is ready to swoop in and save the day. Lucky for him.

Tbh, I just struggled with the idea that what Jack felt was a healthy adult love. He spent very little time with her as a teen, and seems he used to walk to her house and wander around it when know one was there.

Now, do not get me wrong, I am all for a possessive caveman alpha, but there were certain points I thought it was going to turn into an episode of Criminal Minds when he tried to make a dress out of her skin or something.

However, I liked the differing POV , even from the villain of the piece, it built the tension up nicely.

As usual with Lisa Marie Rice books, it was all wrapped up in the last 5% and ended very abruptly.

I have read there is a novella about Jack and Caroline, which is pretty much what should have been the epilogue to this book. One can only assume, due to what appears to be many reviews stating the need for a better ending, she wrote that as a response, but I have to admit to having an issue in paying £1.00 for 50 pages that quite frankly should have been included in this book.

The thing is, I do actually like Lisa Marie Rice books, I just have to space them out, as it is all a bit formulaic and some phrases and sentences are repeated in each book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2015
28yo Washington state small town bookstore owner thinks 31yo former Army officer Hero may be too good to be true. She agreed to let him board at her house on Christmas day, which has changed its meaning since the car accident that took away her beloved family 6 years ago. Hero becomes her lover soon, as well as a willing handyman and protector. Seeds of doubts about Hero creeps in, when he accidentally says something about her past that he should have no way of knowing and when an FB I agent shows her incriminating photos about Hero.

Loved the Hero but not the heroine. She was ok but didn't like her neediness. She's the kind of woman who needs a man to make her feel whole and good about herself. Their romance was good because of Hero's obsessive love for her.** Sex scenes were steamy. Four days worth of sex and romance and then the action-suspense becomes the centerpoint. Good chase scene & quick resolution. Heroine redeemed herself in my eyes, when she stood up for Hero even when the proof against him was huge.

Moderately recommended.

**SPOILERS re: extent of Hero's obsession with heroine is on my other view ... movesme.blogspot.com/2015/11/dangerous-lover-by-lisa-marie-rice.html
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 November 2007
If you've read this author's work before you'll feel as if this could be any of the previous titles with the characters names changed. I was really looking forward to this one, but was doomed to disappointment.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2012
Normally I like Lisa Marie Rice books, sure they are completely unbelievable and a little bit crazy but I am cool with that. The issue with Dangerous Lover is that it is too much like some of her other books. I read this two days after reading Midnight Man (another Lisa Marie Rice book) and the similarities were overwhelming. The names, setting and background information might have been different and the personalities of the characters slightly different but the rest was too similar. The male characters even say and think the same things, they wear the same things (the world surely must be running out of black turtle neck jumpers) and the storylines were too alike.

I quite liked the characters in this one, a lot more than in Midnight Man so I wish I had read this one first but I didn't so I couldn't enjoy this one because I felt like I had read it two days before.

Also the ending seemed to happen in a paragraph, it was so quick that it felt unfinished. I do like this author but this book left me feeling cold.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2010
Jack and Caroline marry just before Easter, in a quiet civil ceremony, with only a few friends attending.
As a young girl, Caroline had dreamed of her wedding. She wanted a huge, elaborate wedding and spent many delightful afternoons designing a gown. With yards of lace and tulle, a pearl-encrusted bodice and a 12-foot train. Twelve bridesmaids, 250 guests, an 8-tier wedding cake, chamber music for the wedding ceremony and a rock band for the reception.
Jack pales when he hears this. He would rather lop off a limb or have all his teeth pulled out without benefit of anaesthesia than suffer through a huge wedding. And, God, it sounds like he might actually have to wear a tuxedo. Gah. But he doesn't allow these feelings to show. Or so he thinks, until Caroline laughs in his face and says that that was then and this is now.
Now, older and wiser, she wants a small, intimate ceremony and that is exactly what they have. A candlelight ceremony at midnight in a small chapel with just a few friends. Caroline wears a long, ivory satin sheath and holds a bridal bouquet of miniature white roses.
Caroline follows one tradition--the groom mustn't see the bridal gown until the ceremony itself. As a matter of fact, Jack doesn't see Caroline at all until that evening, when all the candles are lit, with the pastor waiting at the altar.
He's missed her fiercely all day, and vows to spend as little time apart from her as possible, for the rest of their lives.
Jack can barely breathe when he finally sees Caroline coming alone down the aisle, bathed in candlelight, beautiful beyond words to describe her. Caroline is a beautiful woman, but like all happy brides, she has a special glow on this special day.
Jack can hardly believe that this magical, beautiful woman will be his, to the end of time.
At the end of the ceremony, Caroline quietly hands her bouquet to her best friend, Jenna, kisses her cheek, and tells her she will be the next bride. Jenna's husband left her with two children, a sick mother, and no job. Sure enough, the next year, a new bank manager arrives, a wonderful man, a widower with three children. Two years later, they are married. Jenna quits her job to look after her new, merged family of husband and five children, and is deliriously happy.
After the ceremony, Jack and Caroline go to an exclusive resort on the Caribbean island of Bonaire for two weeks. The resort is lush and private, carefully landscaped to make guests feel as if they are alone in a tropical paradise. Their bungalow stands alone amid a garden of palm trees and bougainvillea, with a sundeck facing the bright Caribbean.
The restaurant's chef is one of the finest in the world, and they have most of their meals catered in the room, out on the deck.
They eat, make love, swim, make love, dance to the live music filtering through the trees from the beach club at night, and make love. Jack tries to teach Caroline to scuba dive, but she's not very good at it. She tries to teach him to dance, but he's not very good at it. They have a lot of fun, though.
They both spend the two-week honeymoon in a daze of perfect happiness and contentment.
Caroline welcomes happiness back, like an old friend who has been gone for far too long. Jack has never been happy like this, and it takes him time to adjust to this new, completely unfamiliar feeling. At times, it almost panics him, to realize how happy he is. And how connected that happiness is to Caroline.
The honeymoon also allows them time to get to know each other better, outside the pressure cooker of their intense, albeit short courtship.
Jack is amazed at Caroline's wisdom, her understanding of people, her tolerance. He understands soldiers, but is at a bit of a loss outside the military world. During the course of his lifetime, living with Caroline gives him an insight into the human heart and mind he would never have had otherwise. His politics shift a little leftwards.
Caroline learns to appreciate Jack's strength of character and sense of morality. She is delighted to know that he is a reader. He reads mainly non-fiction and mainly military history and biographies, but that's fine. She doesn't, and learns a lot from him. He has a tough, completely rational take on the world that she finds fascinating. Through the course of a lifetime her politics shift a little rightwards.
Back home, Jack dedicates himself to his new company. Being smart and intensely mission-oriented, it is soon a success. He spends a lot of time with women, teaching self-defense and security awareness. A student manages to avoid rape thanks to his lessons. She films one of his classes and puts it up on YouTube, where it gets three million hits in the first week.
A company invites Jack to produce a DVD dedicated to self-defense for women, Don't Be A Victim, and it is the second best-selling instructional DVD that year. He and Caroline donate half the proceeds to a company that produces prosthetic hands and distributes them to the children of Sierra Leone whose hands were chopped off by the revolutionary army.
Caroline's bookshop, too, First Page, does extremely well. She is finally able to dedicate some money to it, and sponsors a number of best-selling authors to come and sign books. She can afford a larger selection and starts a very successful mail-order book business.
One of the greatest joys Jack experiences is watching Caroline bring the family mansion, Greenbriars, back to life. He gives her complete carte blanche and an unlimited budget and soon the home is a showcase.
In the long, lonely years in which she cared for Toby and had to sell of the furnishings and watch the house fall apart for lack of resources, Caroline would dream of reinstating Greenbriars in all its glory, exactly as it was. But things change, life changes you.
Instead of filling the house with antiques, as her parents had done, she chooses to restore Greenbriars in Art Deco style, selecting furniture and artwork of the `30s, the time the house was designed by a disciple of Frank Lloyd Wright. She chooses slowly, going to auctions and trolling eBay. It gives her such delight to do it step by step, finding exactly the right piece for the right spot. By the end of five years, Greenbriars is a showcase and Architectural Digest begs her permission to do a spread on it.
Another thing surprises Caroline. In the long, empty years, she daydreamed about not only restoring Greenbriars but also of replicating her parents' lives. Her parents had been social animals, entertaining often. Hardly a week had gone by without a dinner party, often with ten to twelve guests.
But Caroline's life has been different from that of her parents. It has been harder and lonelier and nothing can change that. Caroline finds that she doesn't need and doesn't want much of a social life. She and Jack have a few very good friends, but she finds her family and her bookshop fill her life perfectly.
By mutual agreement, she and Jack decide to wait a bit before starting a family. They don't begin trying until a year after their marriage. Caroline gets pregnant immediately, but has a miscarriage in her third month. She haemorrhages badly.
Jack stops wanting children after that, terrified that he will lose her. But Caroline badly wants children and has no problem seducing him exactly when it suits her. As soon as the doctor clears her, she gets pregnant again, in late summer.
Jack gives her a very hard time during her pregnancy. As far as he is concerned, she should spend the entire pregnancy in bed, with her feet up and with a full time housekeeper so she doesn't have to do anything. He hovers, constantly, and she hears a version of are you okay? at least a bazillion times. She is pregnant through the winter and Jack is absolutely against her driving in bad weather, which is pretty much all the time in winter in Washington state, so she has to kiss her steering wheel goodbye.
Caroline has to fight for the freedom to go into the shop, to do some light housework, to lead a normal life. Jack is exasperatingly overprotective and it is only the knowledge that he is terrified something will happen to her, and that he loves her deeply, that keeps her from stapling her goodbye note to his forehead.
But it's close.
Luckily, Caroline is in the pink of health during the pregnancy. Indeed, she blossoms. As some women do, she becomes even more beautiful. Men stop in the street and stare, even when she is in her eighth moon and looks like she swallowed a beach ball. She simply glows with happiness and joy.
Sometimes Jack sits on the couch and watches her, struck dumb by her beauty, and by the painful intensity of his love. Everything he is, everything he has, is wrapped up in her.
To everyone's relief, not least the gynaecologist's, who suspects Jack would shoot him if something happened to Caroline, the birth is an easy one, and Emma Margaret Prescott comes into the world.
Jack gingerly takes his daughter into his arms as his heart cracks wide open. He thought there was only room for Caroline in there, but he is wrong.
Emma is a beauty, with Caroline's fine features and Jack's black hair.
Now, he has two women he desperately wants to protect. It will be years before Jack settles down and learns to take his love for his two women in stride, and without suspecting danger to them at every corner.

Four years later, Eugene Prescott comes into the world.
Jack loves his children desperately, would unquestioningly die for them, thinks they are the most gorgeous and talented kids in the universe, is immensely proud of them ... but he doesn't always understand them. Certainly not as well as Caroline does.
Emma is a beautiful, bookish little girl. Her mother buys her a computer for her sixth birthday and Emma never looks back. If she were less lovely, she'd be considered a nerd. As it is, when she sprouts breasts, Greenbriars is invaded by lovesick teenaged boys. Jack has to beat them off with a stick, and Emma barely notices. She only starts noticing boys at MIT, Nerd Heaven. She marries an Indian mathematician whose IQ is off the charts.
Gene is a gifted musician. He can pick out tunes on a piano by the age of five and soon outstrips any music teachers that can be found in Summerville. Right after high school, he wins a scholarship to Juilliard. His instrument is the piano, but he can equally play the guitar, the saxophone and the clarinet. A friend asks him to write the score for his indie movie, A Lone Kingdom, and the main song, Some Other Day wins the Oscar for Best Song in 2042. Jack, Caroline and Emma and her husband are in the audience, hearts bursting with pride.
Gene marries a young Mexican writer whose third book becomes a NY Times bestseller. Jack tries a thousand times to read her books, but simply can't finish them. He loves his daughter-in-law but to the end of his life, he lies about having read her books.
Emma and her husband develop a breakthrough technology in artificial intelligence. Jack and Caroline happily provide the seed money for their new company, without really worrying about the returns. The technology is wildly successful and they get a thousand percent return on their original investment.
They have more than enough money for their needs. Their children are grown and successful in their own right. Jack and Caroline establish a foundation for the orphans of military personnel. Ten thousand youngsters are provided an education thanks to the Eugene Prescott Foundation.
Throughout their long lives, Jack and Caroline are very, very grateful for the strong love that binds them and their children together. The long, lonely years each spent before their marriage taught them that love and happiness must never be taken for granted.

In her 82nd year, Caroline suffers a stroke. There is time to call Emma, her husband and their two children and Gene, his wife and their three children. Caroline dies at home, surrounded by the people she loves and who love her. She dies with her hand in Jack's.
Jack dies of a broken heart a week later.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here