Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 11 September 2012
This is either three or four and I have decided generosity is a better form of wrongness.
Provided you can get past the opening few chapters this is a fascinating book.
On the down side anyone who can equate belief with theory does not have a good understanding of the words. A belief is something that an individual accepts without or despite the evidence - see The Bible and the story of doubting Thomas. A theory is something that might be true and is almost always testable.
On the plus side Kathryn Shultz achieves two things. One is an excellent selection of areas where being wrong is of direct benefit to the person in error and the other is a challenge to the idea of certainty. The science that provides the basis for our modern lifestyle is a collection of theories. Too many people think this provides certainty but the truth is that most scientific theories are only true to a certain extent. Newton's theory of gravity was close but superseded by Einstien's theory of relativity which was closer but modified by quantum mechanics. Wrongness is right.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2014
At least, a new area to consider in a sensible thoughtful way, which certainly beats worrying over my mistakes in a rather obsessive anxious way, those I have already made and those I am almost certainly making all the time. This is a fascinating book, and also oddly consoling.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 March 2017
Brilliant distillation of the humbling reality of human fallibility. Lucid and very well written. A profound book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2012
Finding this book very interesting. It covers not just behavioural mistakes we make, but things such as optical illusions and mirages. Definitely worth a read. A fairly long book in comparison to some similar books I own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2013
For years I have questioned my own questioning. After reading this book, I now see why I do it, I just never understood why.
The best read I have purchased for a long, long time. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 August 2017
Have read it twice and made copious underlinings.A reference book for self-deprecators everywhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2016
Lucid and thoroughly researched exploration of a fascinating and universal topic. Would make an excellent gift for the special sparring partner in your life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2013
This book is highly informative and well worth the read. It is so full of information and the concept is so well developed that it takes a little effort on the part of the reader to stick with it, but is well worth the effort.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 November 2014
learn a few things from this book. cover some few things good to know. I would really recommend you to buy this book especially because it will improve your confidence
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 January 2015
good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)