Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
83
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 May 2010
The very fact that this book exists, and is as influential and successful as it is, i think proves McCloud's point that Comic (or Sequential) art is a lot more than just superheroes, and for a wider audience than just children.

He tries to trace it's origins in Ancient Egypt, the Bayeaux Tapestry, the invention of Printing, and comes up with numerous theories on it's definition, it's creation, the evolution of the genre and the artistic process. So fundamental i suppose the word is, are his ideas, that his thoughts are not only valid for comic art, but all art. It's a valuable book, i'm a painter and i found a lot in it that was interesting and useful for me. And i suspect it will have a similar influence on all creative people, from dancers to writers, musicians to filmmakers.

And, i mustn't ignore that it is very accessible! that it is written as a comic book, and not just a theory book, was a very good move as it adds weight to his arguments, because he can demonstrate rather than just describe. It's a marvel, i recommend it to anyone who has even a passing interest in comics or art.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
This was part of my essential reading for my University course.
Found it to be helpful and insightful as an illustrator.
Not a difficult read. Doesn't take too long to read either. Few hours. More space required for imagery.
Clear images.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2009
This cracking little book is a masterclass in how to use visual techniques to tell compelling stories. I don't see this as a book about comics at all, rather than an informative and complete workout of how to talk without saying anything, how to make the best of the medium you work in, and how to show pace, direction and above all keep viewer/user interest. The story is told in classic comic book style, but don't let the lack of supposed gravitas of the medium fool you, this book packs a pretty punch.

I would recommend this book to go on the list of all aspiring visual artists, creators and designers. I'd equally recommend it to film directors, marketeers and even the odd (good) planner.

Buy the book, watch and learn, get better at what you do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2010
This is a great book: it is obviously about the way that comics tell stories, but it does much more than it claims. It is very helpful in articulating how we now use both static (printed books)and dynamic (internet) images (pictures and text)to communicate.
Anyone who is designing or commissioning a website, or seeking to enrich the reader's experience in printed material, should read Understanding Comics. And so should anyone who simply enjoys reading a book written by someone with a genuine desire to communicate - and with something genuinely useful to say.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2010
I was very glad that I bought this book and it's a great starting point for people wanting to get into comics. it's also good value for money as every page is much more dense than the usual comic. The artwork is fantastic and McCloud is great at using the panels to increase the reader's understanding of the points that he makes. The book is in black and white apart from a chapter on colour, but all in all a fantastic book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2010
Let me say this from the start: this book is not just about comics!!

This is a book that delves through the art form of comics like any other, but it also describes the power of images and the details of narrative flow.

It's a good read for aspiring comic professionals and comic readers alike. Personally I've read it and some of the content makes a lot of sense for game design as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 1996
The best analysis of the medium. Just that. And that is the reason why I wanted it in Italian too.
So I looked for a publisher and now you can find it in Italy.
Take a look here [...] to see the Italian edition.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2015
Well written, thought provoking and stimulating. Great art work - the author has made a great effort to create something new and he has succeeded. Enjoyable and helpful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2012
A great book, now, a class in the world of graphic novels. Sums up all the lit terms you need to analyze graphic novels if you are new to the discipline.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
Everything you need to understand about art and design but in a brilliantly realised comic book format. I recommend the seven steps to all my students.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)