Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
14
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 May 2009
Robert Johnson writes simply and elegantly about the human condition. This book is a must for men and women to help understand our wounds and how these are windows or experinces that can lead us to a richer life. Partcularly useful are the 6 feminine elements in a man (and indeed women too). He gives practical examples of how we live out the cross contaminated aspects of the inner feminine. The Grail story is a supportive and cathartic story for anyone who has embarked upon a journey and is looking for means to map the landscape they find themselves in.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2009
An account of Masculine Psychology that addresses its potential richness and connexion to suffering, as well as the spiritual dimension, in ways that strongly enrich the imagination. Its contemporary relevance, moreover, is elicited through an interpretation of the story of Parsifal's lifelong quest for the Grail that discloses the narrative's full potency; and this is contrasted with the naïve - and ultimately self-defeating - modern proposition: the belief in the 'quick fix' ideology. Essential reading!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2003
A very interesting journey through male psychology using the story of Parsifal and the Grail (inlcuding Arthur) as a springboard. Very interesting, some excellent perspectives on the journey of the male. Good reading whether you are a "He" or a "She."
Thoughts about the inner femininity of men and their search to understand and encompass meaning in their lives. If you have an adolescent son, very much worth reading!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 June 2012
The title of this book is a bit of a cheek really and promises more than it fulfills. It's actually a very brief summary of certain aspects of male psychology and although it's very interesting, it's hardly comprehensive. Johnson has a habit of making sweeping statements which he rarely fleshes out and you'll need to look elsewhere for any detailed analysis of the subject.

None of his books are any longer than a decent sized pamphlet and I can't entirely understand why someone who evidently has a need to communicate his ideas can't be bothered to deliver something that will do them justice. In Jungian terms I'd say that writing constellates his guru complex and he contents himself with gnomic statements and a general attitude of 'Go figure it yourself'.

He's a perceptive writer though and one who it's easy to warm to. This book is an ideal jargon free starting point that presents a complex subject in a very informative way. As other reviewers have pointed out, the book deconstructs Parsifal and the Grail Legend. After I read it I had a lot of fun doing the same with Indiana Jones and The Last Crusade. Malory - Tennyson - Jung - Johnson - George Lucas. Ain't evolution amazin'.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2012
My fiance and I have both read this book and have found it incredibly helpful in understanding some of the dynamics going on in our relationship. It explains about the inner masculine in women as we as the masculine in men and how these two aspects can be in conflict. It gives idaes about what can be done to create a more harmonious relationship between men and women - uplifting, positive and inspiring.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
I fought with this book but was so thrilled to get to the end - it was an eye opener - Thank you for the translation and story and fear and anger that all fell into place at the end!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
This is one of the those books that every man should read. Enough said.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2015
very insightful and sympathetically written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2014
Excellent on the subject!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2016
Excellent read 📚
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse