Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 3 February 2018
I am really thrilled to have found this author, bought this book on kindle but have now purchased other writings in book form and will do the same for this as I think it is a special find which I will pass on to others.. There is real beauty in this book, which is her most famous, some of the descriptions of events are poetic and without pretension or an overt political attitude, the story unfolds and is not predictable so I would not read any literary reviews talking about characters etc. before reading the story in full. Enough said as there are reviews published within the book hence my suggestion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 October 2016
The most beautifully written novel I have read. At first it could be tricky to get into the flow of this book, however persevere as the story is well thought out and the writing is almost lyrical in places. This has become one of my favourite books and a real shame that not many people are aware of its greatness. Give it a go.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2014
As you'd expect, this is quite an old-fashioned novel, and is as slow and charming and comfortable as that would suggest. It's perhaps one of those cases where the book is more significant to study and to understand than it is enjoyable to read, as nothing within it seems too groundbreaking today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2014
Excellent book, this tells how so many suffered for so long, and yet never lost hope. Well worth reading if studying the Slavery
Issues of the Southern States.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2017
Love it! Half way through the book already. This is a must read. Get's you thinking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 October 2015
Not everyone's cup often but I enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2013
I was pleased with all aspects of this purchase: the product arrived promptly and was in excellent condition and met my expectations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2014
A truly great and profoundly moving book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 April 2014
More than just a book.This is a well book at a really good price. I am very happy with this purchase. Very happy !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2013
Strangely atmospheric. I didnt think I would like this, the patois takes a bit of getting used to, but the characters are very strong and eventually the whole just comes together. Beautifully written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse