Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 19 October 2017
Very good book exellent read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2014
I liked Ron when I've seen him on tv,always coming across with a good sense of humour.I always got the feeling he knew exactly where he sat in the business and was comfortable in this.His humour comes through out the book which was filled with laugh out loud moments.however the need to be seen as mainstream was a surprise and a theme though out his career.I've never seen a R J porno but he's the only porn star I know the name of so maybe Ron has reached that mainstream he searched for.A great read,highly enjoyable and Ron comes across as a good guy in a bad business.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2008
Ron J is a porn star. Famous for being hairy and (of course) well-built in the tackle dept. And not a pretty geezer, although arguably, he was when he was a young 'un. Jeremy is, by his own account, extremly talented - he says he's a classical musician (and provides scant evidence) registered childcarer (for which there is) and intellect (judge for yourself). This book is a mixture of very interesting stories about the adult entertainment industry, nice anecdotes about his interesting life, and yet it ultimately dissolves into a series of namechecks of the famous and becomes a litany of minor mishaps and pratfalls for somebody wanting to break into the mainstream of acting who never succeeds.

Jeremy knows everybody but this seems due entirely to his curiosity status as a porn legend rather than his acting ability, and in the end, you both envy him for his wonderful freedom and liberty in his sex and social life and for his utter lack of fulfilment on any other level: it is apparent that having made it in porn early, he has absolutely no idea about conventional relationships at all. He is painfully and honourably honest about this which adds a twinge of pathos to the book.

Jeremy seems to think he has (third? Forth?) career as a stand-up comedian but never makes us laugh seriously (laugh seriously? I'm on good form today), although we do smile with and at him frequently. And through it all, you really do like and pity him in equal measure. He's trying to punch above the odds. He's had a good life. He's self-depreciating. He's not arrogant. He's a porn star who wanted more and grazed the surface. Basically he popularised porn as an icon. That is probably all he should have aimed for for happiness. At that level, Mr J is the best thing the industry ever produced. Not bad going, and it's a fun read. A tiny bit sad for his foiled ambitions - but he did not have to tell us about those - so in a way, we get the truth about who he is and what he wanted.

The sex alone probably makes him a happier man than many have ever been - and the book is worth a read if you are open minded and curious. Possibly one of the most accessible works on the industry you'll ever be able to read. All told, however, I'd not swap his cock for my brains - even if many women I've met would!
66 Comments| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 July 2011
Interesting but rather stange book, especially of you are not working in the Porn industry.
At times it seems rather unbelievable, so not sure if this is all true or not.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2015
Ron appears to have made a nice life for himself and comes across as a nice popular bloke. It is a shame that he seems a little desperate to be accepted into main stream acting, he should just stick to what he is good at, I know I would! This book does not provide enough detailed insight into the World in which Ron inhabits, the world of porn, too much name dropping of non porn people and boring anecdotes spoil the read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 August 2013
Absolutely loved it. A really interesting look at a legend's life. Quite humourous and revealing at times. Guaranteed to make you smile and laugh!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 December 2012
Really funny insight in to the Hedgehog. Four stars is well deserved. Ron Jeremy really knows how to penetrate the mundane with funny anecdotes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 July 2015
Full of handy hints and tips, and some good namedropping, a look back at a golden period in that business that will probably never be repeated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2014
I have not much interest in this kind of business in general. But this book is well and funny written, so I would call it good entertainment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)