Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
25
4.4 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 August 2015
I liked this book; a lot! I feel as if it was extremely relatable. Jeff is a teenager who wakes up in a mental hospital after attempting suicide, and although he's 'locked up' with other 'crazies' he still fails to admit that he may be crazy, for a long time. The story includes tails of his friends and the shocking truth behind Jeff's suicide attempt. Although, the reasoning for his suicide attempt was predictable, other factors of the book kept you guessing right up until the point where he admitted the problem.

I feel like anyone who is growing up in society today would enjoy this book. It outlines the truth about love and life. It has a dark sense of humour that only a few people could laugh along with.

Also, because of my own mental health: I found this book extremely relatable on so many levels as well as compelling. I also found comfort in this book as it highlights that suicide or self harm does not make you crazy.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2008
The narrator is in a 'facility' after trying to commit suicide. His story is that of the fellow teenagers who are there with him, his perceptions of them, their view of themselves and his resistance to the efforts of the psychiatrist trying to help him. This is a powerful, funny, tender and moving book - one of Ford's best. Although classed as a book for teenagers, it is really a book for all ages. It chronicles a gradual evolution to painful self-awareness and acceptance. The book's hero is all the more credible because the difficulty for him of being gay is about him, rather than his family, who are loving and sympathetic. This is a book to live on in the mind.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2009
Jeff is fifteen years old, from a good family, and he's just woken up in the psychiatric ward of the hospital.

Over the next month and a half he will take part in group therapy, individual counseling, and even those excruciating sessions with his family. And through all of this, everyone will realize that he didn't really mean to kill himself. Right? It was just a misunderstanding.

His group therapy sessions aren't his favorite; he's only going so that everyone can see how sane he really is. There are four of "them" in his group: Alice, who lit her mom's boyfriend on fire; Juliet, who seems to have no direct relationship with reality; Sadie, who tried to drown herself; and Bone, who primarily just wants the world to know that he doesn't know Juliet and is not her boyfriend.

Jeff tries to make it clear that he is only there because of a misunderstanding. But, it's hard to misunderstand the bandages on his wrists.

Over the next 45 days, Jeff's story will unfold and new pages will be added. Was it really a girl that caused this whole "misunderstanding?" Allie has been his best friend, but was she more than that? Was he jealous of her new boyfriend or did she reject his advances?

And now he has new friendships forming while he's in the hospital, and each of those will test his ability to deal with new pressures and unexpected situations. And may lead him closer to confronting the events that led up to his hospitalization.

Reviewed by: JodiG.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
I bought this book for my daughter and she has been so thrilled with this novel. At first, I was sceptical because of the title and was slightly worried about what she may be exposed to, however she was amazed by the novel and has looked into new things by Michael Thomas Ford.

She tells me that the story is extremely captivating and is about a boy called Jeff who awakens in a psych ward and is put onto a 45 day programme where he unveiled what happened to him and why he did what he did to end himself there. She also mentioned that it was actually a very funny book and isn't really another book that is stereotypically about a mental health patient.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2012
Cheesy title? Pfft, trust me, all that cheese is warranted completely. This book was, in a word, un-put-downable. No I do not care that that is neither a real word nor spelled entirely correctly, but there you go. I ordered it on Monday, and it arrived this afternoon (Wednesday)- I started reading it after dinner, and literally could not put it down until I'd finished it. Utterly gripping, funny, witty, clever...insert appraising adjective here. If you enjoyed the wry humour of Catcher In The Rye and fancy the same thoughtfulness as in Chobosky's Perks of Being a Wallflower, this is the book for you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
Ironically, words cannot describe my love for this book. It has some amazing plot twists and is generally fantastic. Please buy it - you won't regret it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
This book was amazing - definitely a new favourite. Written like a true teen and the reveal on why he tried to kill himself is great and pretty unexpected! Some sexual scenes so I'd suggest not for under 13's, but apart from that it's wonderful!! Love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
this was one of those books that actually show you a perspective of someone who doesnt have everything perfect. many plot twists. overall very exciting to read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
It's been a few months since I read it, so can't remember much, but I do remember that I liked it a lot. I read it in a few days, and liked the characters. Very believable. And I suspect much of it is true for the life of the author. And that's not a bad thing. Like they say; Write what you know.
I don't know if I'd read it again, but it was a good story.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 March 2011
Jeff wakes to find himself in hospital, and subsequently learns that he is in the psychiatric ward and that he his signed in for a 45 day stint. He admits he tried to commit suicide by slashing his wrists, but is reluctant to admit why he attempted it, not to his doctor, Dr Katzrupus, not to the other four teenage patients in his unit, and least of all to himself. Of course he is convinced there is nothing wrong with him, he is in the "nuthouse" by mistake, and he will be going home as soon as every one realises their error.

Jeff tells his own story, fifteen years old he has a way with words, a ready response and a smart-Alec sarcasm behind which he hides, yet he is a very likable and endearing youngster. He gives a day by day account of his time in hospital, of his daily sessions with his doctor and his interaction with is fellow young patients, and the weekly visits of his parents and young sister.

Suicide notes is an eminently readable diary, thoroughly engaging and full of wit and humour. Jeff's sessions with Dr Katzrupus (for whom he has his own nick name) alone are a delight, his evasive answers and attempts at twisting things round, at getting the upper hand. Off course nothing will change for Jeff until he can admit to himself that he has a problem, but how long before he can, and how will he and his family deal with it if and when he does?

His problem? - he is gay. A problem many teenagers no doubt have to face and come to terms with, in this entertaining story MTF provides a realistic, helpful and positive path to acceptance.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here