Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
10
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
2
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 August 2005
Long before author Janet Evanovich loosed Stephanie Plum, bounty hunter extraordinaire, on the citizens of Trenton, NJ, she wrote 12 short romance novels, all screwball comedies with happy endings, some involving just a tad of mystery/suspense. These small treats, (like a piece of good chocolate, they lift your spirits), were published, originally by the Loveswept line between the years 1988 and 1992. I have read and enjoyed them all - but then I love almost everything Ms. Evanovich writes. "Love Overboard," was released by Harper Torch, (Harper Collins), in January 2005 for those who missed the book first time around when it was titled, "Ivan Takes A Wife." Very few changes have been made to the original material other than some necessary editing.
Oddly enough, "Lover Overboard's" heroine is named Stephanie too, Stephanie Lowe, and could very well be the ancestor of Ms. Plum. Like Stephanie Plum, Stephanie Lowe is bright, witty, sexy, and in law enforcement....a former a cop. When she graduated from the Academy she looked all of sixteen, perfect to work undercover as a narc at a high school. She had personal reasons for wanting to help the kids to stay off drugs, and to put the pushers away for a long time. When she was identified by the bad guys as a cop and almost killed, she resigned from the force, burnt out. She wanted a change of pace, scenery and local culture, so she moved a good distance away from New Jersey.
Her dream home is in Camden, Maine, overlooking the ocean. Stephanie plans to turn it into a B&B for the tourists who flock to the area each year for the Windjammer cruises, as well as to spend time on the gorgeous Maine coast and offshore islands. She purchases the house, called Haben, from schooner Captain Ivan Rassmussen, a descendant of pirates. His family had lived at Haben for generations. After the sale is completed, she discovers that the toilet is dysfunctional. It leaks so bad that the bathroom floor collapses and falls into the kitchen and downstairs bathroom. The bathroom mirrors go the way of the floor. A new heater is needed desperately before the cold sets in, and the wooden porch floor is rotten. Stephanie, with limited funds, feels she has been swindled by Ivan, And the final straw, his ancient Aunt Tess, long departed from this world, (at least physically), haunts the widow's walk. Fortunately for Ivan, the ghost will only speak to women.
Stephanie's cousin Lucy, the chef on the "Josiah T. Savage," the Captain's schooner, is engaged to a plumber. The couple plan to take a week off to wed and enjoy a short honeymoon. Lucy promises Stephanie that if she will take her place as cook on Ivan's 100 year-old ship for this one week, and feed the handsome Captain, a confirmed bachelor, the crew and passengers, she will have her new husband install the toilet. Although our protagonist barely knows how to boil water, she desperately needs an indoor john. As she steps onboard the "Savage" and greets Ivan, something happens to both of them that never surfaced during the house signing. Sparks fly!! Bigtime! Ivan the Terrible finds the temperature rising rapidly. And Steph, although a virgin, really feels the heat!
The sea trip with passengers is a blast. The kitchen is only a mega disaster for a day or two. The dialogue is fast, furious and delightful. Ms. Evanovich's outrageous humor will be immediately recognizable to fans of the Stephanie Plum series. It is also fun to glimpse prototypes for her future characters.
This is a short, simple, well-written romance - wonderfully entertaining fluff. It's the perfect read for a plane trip or a dismal weekend afternoon. I enjoyed! Hope you do too!
JANA
0Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2005
Can this woman do no wrong? Well no, not according to me, I love the Stephanie Plum Books and the Full .... series, so this was a nothing else to read, how about trying on of the old style books, I am glad I did, the players are wonderful, the story flows, you are never bored, it is just well written and entertaining, and lets face it thats what you want from chicklit.(with out it being to Mills and Booney!)
Fantastic Read, must order the others now.......
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 September 2016
Love Overboard is a pre-Plum romance by American author, Janet Evanovich. Having just bought a house that seems to be developing one structural problem after another, ex-cop Stephanie Lowe takes a job as cook on a small cruise vessel in exchange for some plumbing work. The captain, Ivan Rasmussen, descendant of the infamous pirate, Red Rasmussen, is a notorious womaniser, but something about the quirky and feisty Stephanie grabs onto his heart.

This is an entertaining read: the characters are not one-dimensional, but there’s no great depth there. There’s a fair bit of slapstick, some intrigue, plenty of romance, a bit of sex, a disappearing corpse and a ghost to keep things lively. Some issues also contain an excerpt from another pre-Plum novel, Back to the Bedroom.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2007
I am a huge fan of the Stephanie Plum series, so I was very happy to get my hands on a copy of Love Overboard. This book was written well before Janet Evanovich had Stephaie Plum fully defined, but you can definitely see the beginnings of the girl we know and love here.

Love Overboard is a great tale of a girl with a mysterious past who leaves Jersey to open a Bed and Breakfast on the coast of Maine. Stephanie Lowe is the girl in question and she is in desperate need of plumbing work on her ramshackle B&B Inn. Lucky for her, a cousin of hers is married to a plumber. What will it cost her? Working on a sailboat for a week as the cook. She thinks this seems like a good deal and goes for it.

The good deal turns into a great deal when she meets and falls for the sailboat's owner, Ivan. Of course there are lots of funny circumstances and hi-jinx along the way. To top it all off, the ending will come as a surprise!

Love Overboard is a fun book that gave me the giggles more than once. If you are looking for a nice, lighthearted book to spend a weekend with, this is a good choice!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2008
This has a "Harlequin Romance" vibe that would normally send me screaming in the other direction, but given that it's Janet Evanovich, I was intrigued. I read this in a different way than others might, I think. This was a chance to see Evanovich's writing style in its infancy, before she became the publishing phenomenon that she is today, with the fantastically popular Stephanie Plum novels. The humor is there, but a bit more rough, and the romance is more pronounced than it has since become.

Stephanie (see, even that started early on) is in the difficult position of having to be a ship's cook for Ivan, who runs a old-fashioned cruise. You know by the end of page one that these two are going to be together - the fun is in finding out just how that will happen. The resolution is, well, trite. Oh well. It's still Evanovich, and even subpar Evanovich can make you laugh out loud.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2007
nice little story to pass away an afternoon, or like me 2 hours. not very taxing on brain and enjoyable enough. just lacked that certain something for me to really enjoy it, the relationship between ivan and stephanie was a little too easy so took away a little from the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2010
This book is what you expect Janet to give you - fast moving story line, love, lady with an attitude, gorgous man and a dog thrown in for good measure!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2015
light hearted easy read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2016
Fab
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here