Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 October 2016
The first in a quartet of stories that deal with close relationships between girlfriends and the path of each of the four to find or rediscover their life's partner. I have read all four and am writing a review here to encompass all four books, for anyone who might be considering reading the series. The series could have had an alternative title 'Esme's story' because she is the connecting thread throughout - a woman out of her time who is as determined to create scandals as she is ultimately bent on presenting a reformed character to society. One needs to concentrate because there are quite a number of players in each story, some who appear in all the books, some with roles limited to one book. There is a great deal of humour and also sadness as the backgrounds and insecurities of various characters is exposed.

Do try the series - Eloisa James is such a good writer, and her stories are never predictable; there is always some entirely unexpected drama or scenario playing out. I am making my way through all her books, and really enjoyed this series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2016
English people don't say something is not worth a red cent, or readily think of molasses. Girls newly Out did not 'debut' in the Regency. The story introduces too many undistinguished characters early on, and the behaviour of the principals is ridiculous.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2015
Headstrong heroines, handsome, wicked and erotic heroes , set in a highly colourful era.. Ms James draws you into her. stories,, engages your imagination and leads you through yet another of her wicked romps.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
This is the first book I have read by Eloisa james, usually I am a Stephanie Lauren's and Julia Quinn fan but have run out of books of theirs to read, however this year should remedy that fact. This is a great book and I highly enjoyed it, I am on the 3rd book of this series now and will be reading many mor elf her books in the future. If you like historical romance, Stephanie Lauren's and Julia Quinn I recommend you buy this book!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2016
THIS IS THE FIRST BOOK IN 'THE DUCHESS QUARTET' A GREAT SERIES OF BOOKS THAT CONTAIN IN DEPTH PLOTS, CHARACTERS THAT INSTANTLY MAKE YOU TO READ MORE. RICHLY DETAILED HISTORY AND FULL OF ROMANCE, UPS AND DOWNS AND ALL THAT GOES BETWEEN. I LOVED THIS FIRST BOOK AND SO BEGINS AN AWESOME STORY AND A GREAT QUARTET OF BOOKS.

THIS ARRIVED THE DAY AFTER ORDERING (WITH PRIME DELIVERY).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
A very good read, similar in style to Julia Quinn. With 3 different charcater stories in the main plot it keeps you turning the pages! The second book in this series is even better!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
I read this author avidly. The mix of Georgette Hayer and steamy passion brings out the romantic in me and takes me to another place and anther time. Brilliant read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
Really enjoyed this one. Gina and Camden are excellent characters and their sparring relationship is fun to follow, sexy and humorous. These Duchess novels contain very entwined plots where the main characters of subsequent books are heavily involved in the plot of the current one. Each book stands alone though. This was one of my favourites. I will definitely be keeping it and I recommend it to you.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
Oh well, it was a cheap read but rendered mildly irritating by a scattering of Americanisms ~ ie they " shucked off " their husbands and the heroine "snuck" after the boy duke. The duke refuses to be called Your Grace and will only answer to "Cam". The women are openly promiscuous in an age where public behaviour was rigidly controlled. The story was predictable.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
Generally I like books by Eloisa James but this is not very good. It feels that it was written by formula and without any real inspiration.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse