Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
26
4.2 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 September 2004
This book was so much more than I expected. It is not simply an interior design text; it is a book that takes you to a relaxing, comfortable, appealing place. If you even vaguely like the shabby chic style you will adore this book. The author takes you through the changes she created in her small home, showing that we do not need to live in huge, elegant houses to have a home we desire. Curl up in front of the fire or sit on the patio to read this book. I loved it!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2017
nice book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2004
An excellent book, written in a friendly narrative manner and full of lovely pictures. Just like the best of the glossy magazines. Great for dipping into to improve your mood. If only I could aspire to such a house.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2012
A really inspirational book. I'd had trouble until now in identifying my taste, but this is pretty much bang on. Full of delightful pictures and a surprising number of tips (paint the inside of frosted glass to get it the colour you want, use flowers in unexpected places, created recesses for things like toilet roll holders if your bathroom is small, use beautiful bedding so the bed still looks good if it's unmade, paint utilitarian items such as stepladders an attractive colour if they are out on view). Unfortunately, Ashwell herself comes across as quite unpleasant and arrogant (I mean, who on earth changes their bathmat twice a DAY?). There's a lot of "I did this and I did that" but unlike Jocasta Innes, who clearly gets her own hands dirty, most of Ashwell's work is obviously done by an army of cheap Mexican workers. Nevertheless, well worth it for the lovely pictures and inspirational interior.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2010
i am a huge rachel ashwell fan, i bought all her books, there's an intimate delicacy in her taste, that makes the home feel fresh, lived and comfortable. to me it is a must have.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2009
Rachel Ashwell was far ahead of her time when she took faded florals to America, this is a superb sourcebook for anyone who loves vintage style and wants to apply the look to their own home. I really hope that Ms Ashwell brings her designs back to England as looking through this book is very much like browsing through the best bits of interior magazines.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
Again lovely pictures and good if you want ideas on what could be achieved but personally I was looking for more "how to do's" which this book didn't do for me. Still worth buying for something to aspire to
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2009
i just loved this book love the pictures and lots of good ideas for when i move to france very good bye
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
What can I say...I'm a Rachel Ashwell fan! Yes ok...her books are very self indulgent...but for gorgeous photographs and great shabby chic ideas it can't be beaten.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
Love the book does what it says on the tin. Lovely illustrations and lots of ideas. If you are not sure what shabby chic is you will be after reading the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)