Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 March 2017
My son has enjoyed the previous books in this series so this was a good addition to his set. I knew this was second hand so was pleased with the condition, only down side was it had a girls' name written in ink on the first page which my son wasn't too happy about.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2017
A brilliant book for kids of any age.This is one amazing book in a series of fabulous and thrilling novels. In this masterpiece you will find an excitable captain, a culinary acquaintance and a dangerous fungus. I have raced through this exhilarating series and I can not wait to get to the end. I enjoyed and loved reading this and I want to be able to pass the joy and excitement to you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
Good service very pleased
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
good product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 October 2004
This eleventh book in the series is all wet. Dreams evaporate, misfortune precipitates, and unanswered questions collect. The Grim Grotto however, is far from boring, with the introduction of the Widdershin family of submariners, who have a surprise in store that will hook the unsuspecting reader. Old friends are reunited, enemies are more amusing than threatening, and young romances blossom from the depths of the Stricken Stream to the shores of the Briny Beach.
However, if despite all the warnings you insist on finishing this book, you will realise that after you have followed the Baudelaire siblings through their latest collection of tragedies, you are still no further along the story than when you started, but you will have gained valuable knowledge about poisonous mushrooms and wasabi. Be sure to make a note of all this, because, dear reader, you never know if this dubiously useful information will save your miserable life one day.
Lemony Snicket shows his sensitive side, reducing his most evil villain to a giggling, doting boyfriend, organizing poetry readings, and ending the story with the slimmest hint of happiness. There's something very wrong with this picture.
This is not a stand alone book, even though quite a hefty chunk of it is devoted to flashbacks. If you haven't read the first ten adventures, I'm afraid you have the untimely and expensive misfortune of having to go and buy ten books, providing of course you are prepared to partake in a collection that will depress you if you haven't been blessed with a strong constitution. Persons suffering from melancholy and depression disorders should heed the author's warnings and read happier books with pleasant endings.
This episode is a one sitting read if you're a Very Faithful Devotee, but the unanswered questions and sub-story lines that lead nowhere will leave you Veritably Foolishly Dumbfounded. It's really a 3.5 star book, but like the elusive Mr. Snicket, I like to end on a less sad note every once in a while.
Amanda Richards October 16, 2004
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2005
I think 'the Grim Grotto' was a brilliant book with loads more mysteries unravelling as it spills out it's dramatic cotents.
The Baudelaires encounter deadly fungus, a tap-dancing ballerina fairy princess veterinarian, a mechanical monster and a search for a sugar bowl.
I thought it was the best book in the series yet, it was exciting and mysterious.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2004
Book The Eleventh:The Grim Grotto.
In this installment of the lives of the Baudelaires, Violet, Klaus and Sunny encounter such horrors as a deadly disease, hypocondria, a guy that says 'Aye!' all the time and a bearded guy on their divers suits
All in all, a good read, a must for all fans of Lemony Snicket, and the best yet.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 December 2004
I've read every one of the Series of Unfortunate events - and certainly had no intention of missing this episode. However, I was slightly disappointed with the book this time.
The story is reasonable enough by Snicket standards - but we learn little of any real value to further the ongoing plot or get answers to any of our questions (though an intriguing new character is introduced on the last page). It rather felt like 'filling in' until the final book or two. Normally, with the witty narrative and dialogue, that wouldn't have been a problem - but there were several things that made this book somewhat irritating to read:
1) New character Captain Widdershins says 'Aye,' after almost every sentence - 8 -12 times every single paragraph of dialogue. Then as if that isn't enough to, his niece starts doing it too.
2) There are several (intentionally dull) double page segments about the water cycle intended to lull the reader to sleep to avoid reading any further misery; it's only funny the first time, by the fifth/sixth it's a nuisance.
3) Count Olaf has a new and very annoying way of laughing, saying things like: Hee hee hee sniggle haw snaggle heepa heepa ho ho heffalump ... after virtually every sentence. Esme does it too.
4) Carmelita keeps telling everyone she's dressed as a 'tap-dancing ballerina fairy princess veterinarian'; funny a few times then it starts to grate.
5) There's an enormous amount of plot exposition woven in which seems unnecessary; if you've read all the other books you know this stuff, if you haven't, you shouldn't start by reading part eleven of a series anyway.
All that being said, if you're a die-hard fan eager to read this series through to the end, then this, of course, cannot be missed. But speaking personally, it's my least favourite so far ... and just seems to lack the originality of the early episodes. It makes me wonder if stretching this tortuous tale in to 13 episodes is perhaps stretching it a little too far
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2015
After whooshing down a cold, fast running stream, the Baudelaires run into a submarine with a very lively crew of two… and a cook. Captain Widdershins and his lovely stepdaughter Fiona are there names and the cook is a long lost friend of the Baudelaires, Phil. The orphans and Fiona set out into a gloomy cave in search of a vital object. But Sunny is poisoned by deadly mushrooms...

In this book I was particularly impressed by Klaus’ skills on interpreting maps and graphs. He discovered the Grim Grotto (which was where they headed to find this vital object) on the map. He found that it was in uncharted waters so it could be dangerous. But nothing will stop the Baudelaires and their friendly crew from swimming out to search it… So much drama!! Love this book. Definitely recommend it to all ages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2008
Unless you are a slug, a sea anemone, or mildew, you probably prefer not to be damp. You might also prefer not to read this book (which I am writing about), in which the Baudelaire siblings encounter an unpleasant amount of dampness as they descend into the depths of despair, underwater. In fact the horrors they encounter are too numerous to list, and you wouldn't want me to mention the worst of it, which includes mushrooms, a desperate search for something lost, a mechanical monster, a distressing message from a lost friend, and tap dancing. This book sounds a bit to horrible to read so only read in you really dare!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse