Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
18
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 January 2017
Quaint little angel story if your 15 and under not really for me but think my daughter would love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
This book is the first of many in the Angel Academy series by the brilliant children's author Annie Dalton. These were my favourite books growing up, and I still find myself rereading them every so often now. They are the kind of vibrant, charming, and mesmerising stories that stay with you throughout your childhood, teens, and into adulthood.

This book sees the main character, Mel Beeby, finding herself in Heaven after being killed in a car accident just after she has turned thirteen. In Heaven, Mel attends Angel Academy, a school just for Angels (other children and adults who have died and gone to Heaven) which is dedicated to saving the people on earth by fighting the forces of evil. These forces of evil are called the Opposition, or PODS (Powers of Darkness). Mel and her best friends, Lola, Reuben and Orlando, find themselves travelling through time to different places and time periods in history in order to save the human race from the dark influences and harmful vibes of the PODS. Each book sees Mel, her classmates, and her friends given new heavenly assignments and human charges to protect.

From the very beginning, these books convey a vivid, magical and addictive world that you will fall in love with over and over again as you read each one. Mel's Heaven is a beautiful, colourful world that invites you in, and Annie's fantastic writing style makes every single book addictive. Mel and her fellow angels become your best friends as you share their glittering world in Heaven and follow them into cosmic battles across space and time. The author's depiction of the different places and cultures in history is incredible; you can smell the divine scents in the air at the Roman baths, feel the fear in the London blitz. You will even come across some familiar characters along the way! Mel and her friends' charges will win over your affections, and you will live Mel's heavenly new life along with her.

These books are deliciously captivating and wonderful to read. Winging It is a fantastic opening story for the series. Meet Mel, Lola and Reuben and discover a totally luminous world! Trust me, you won't regret it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2001
This book is brilliant! I read it ALL within the day I brought it. The story is funny, touching, cool and imaginative all rolled into one. Annie Dalton has a really individual style which will have you engrosed from cover to cover. Read all Mel's points of view about her departure from Earth, other 'Cosmic Agents' and being at the Angel Academy. A must buy!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2005
I originally got these books for my younger sister (whose 12), but now I'm addicted! (i'm nearly 16). These books are about life-but also death, and subconciously challenge problems young people face. This book is about Melanie Beeby, who is struck down by a speeding joyrider the day after her 13th birthday. However, these books arent morbid. Melanie is hurled into the vibey, lively kingdom of heaven, where she makes friends, develops a crush, o-and is sent time travelling with her history club! these books face every day situations - what to wear, exams, friends, boys etc - but in heaven! theyre gr8! Buy them all!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2003
This series has to be one of the best I've ever read. In this book, a girl called Melanie Beeby has just turned 13 and has been enjoying teenage life to the full, but not for long. She gets knoked down by a hyjacker the day after her birthday. To her astonishment she then finds herself at the Angel Academy, where she meets the soul-mate she's always been looking for, Lola.
Mel goes time-traveling to England in World War II where she tries to save a girl called Molly from the Opposition...
If you are stuck to find a book, (and you are a girl) pick this one! (reviewer is 11 years old)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2001
Melanie Beeby is a normal 13 year old (shopaholic). She then gets run over and goes to The Angels Academy. There is this seriously cute boy, Orlando who Mel thinks is gorgeous. Mel makes two friends Lola and Reuben who groove around all over the place; in 1930`s Britain and especially the shopping malls. Then Mel uses her Angel powers a bit too seriously when she makes herself be visible to the human eye, but Mel gets through it in the end and finds out her true Angel name...He... "You`ll have to read it to find out !!!"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2001
This story takes you beyond the clouds and in to a different world.Melanie is a hip-hop chic and didn't plan on becoming a angel.And going to a angel academy she trains and makes alot of new friends,then they are put on a mission on Earth where Mel saves a little girl from the war.The story is really enjoyable and people who want to read this book will definatly slip above and beyond!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2001
this book really rocks! its a cool-up-to-date book about how one girl becomes an angle without even realising it. her and her friend's Lola And Reuben have some cool times ( espescially going shopping!) And then theres Orlando, sweet eyed Orlando, he keeps Mel on her toes, first she likes him, then she doesnt, then in the blitz, she gets close....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2001
My mum brought this book for me. And I loved it.The cover it really cool and so is the story. I felt that I could really understand Mel and all her friends. I like to shop even more than Mel. Mel has a really cool sense of humour and there are lots of jokes. I can't wait to read the next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2001
Quite funny and exiting. You can realy get your teeth into it. It has a lot of character and there is a magic friendship between the trainee angel, Melanie Beeby and her tough but wise friend. They travel speedily to different time zones including scary world war two. Cool!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse