Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
9
The Big Bounce
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change

on 12 April 2018
As another reviewer said, this is not EL at his best.
It’s ok but the characters feel a bit under developed and it’s hard to love any of them.
The story is ok but equally feels a bit rambling and made up on the hoof.
I was hoping for a big surprise or plot twist but the end of the book came with a whimper more than a bang (though there is something of a bang too!).
Not bad, just not exceptional.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 June 2017
It's Elmore Leonard. Always a good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 2013
Excellent laid-back crime thriller with a neat twist at the finish; as we have been led to expect from maestro Elmore Leonard.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 June 2006
Sometimes - in fact, most of the time it is a pity to come to a good book after the movie has been made. Even if you haven't seen it they'll put the stars on the front cover...

This is Jim Thompson country, but it's not in your face. There is not much to redeem the characters - and the write up on the back's even worse - but they're incredibly believable. Leonard reveals alomost all without labouring a sentence let alone a scene.

One of his best.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2017
Superbly tight writing as ever from the master. Dialogue ready to copy and paste into a screenplay, as you'd expect from EM. In short, wonderfully crafted, with subtle, realistically flawed characters; but, ultimately, not offering the very best in terms of the Elmore trademark flourish of zany comedic lowlifes who somehow preserve a dignity of sorts. It lacks a little pace, too.
If you're already a fan, you'll savour it; if you haven't yet discovered the genius that is Elmore Leonard, you may be better off starting of with a later title.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 October 2016
Well, here's yet another book that it's taken me so long to getting around to reviewing, that the publisher has had time to change the cover art since I bought it! That no reflection on the book, more on the reviewer.
I'm a big Elmore Leonard fan and used to always try to have one of his books on me when faced with a long haul flight; really helped me take my mind off the lack of leg (and elbow) room.....and the delays.....ahhhh, long-haul flights......
Anyway, The Big Bounce was originally written by Leonard in the 1960s and is set in Michigan and tells the tale of Jack Ryan, a thief whose luck seems to take a turn for the better when he is hired to work at a resort hotel.....Unfortunately, he runs into Nancy...
Again, as you would expect from a master of the genre like Leonard, the twisty story is brilliantly told and the amoral characters spring to life, through his minimal but brilliant description and superb dialogue.
Seemingly effortless genius. Loved it!
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 July 2010
This is not the best Elmore Leonard book. The best Elmore Leonard books are spectacular, and this is merely pretty good. As an Elmore I'd give it three stars; that equates to four for anyone else.

The characters are one dimensional, but so are all of his characters. The plot is clever, but not unfathomable. What makes Elmores so great is the dialogue and the pace. If you're a fan, of course you'll love it. If you aren't, this may not be the best book to start with but at least when you've read it you'll know why some of us regard this man as the best there is.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2014
Could not be better!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2016
Bouncy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Customers also viewed these items

The Switch
£8.99
Pronto
£8.99
Hombre
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here