Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 August 2014
Very well written review of basics of Islam. The author has done his job of introducing Islam and reviewing the articles of Faith, Practice and contemporary challenges in Islam extremely well. Congratulations to Yahiya Emerick for his work. As he has not been born into his adopted faith, his view is refreshing and will appeal to those who wish to know what Islam is without any pre-formed opinion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2006
I decided to take this book out from the library after I realised that, aside from what was shown on the news, and the little I learnt several years ago in school, I actually knew very little about the world's second largest religion.

It's makes Islam look very interesting, and goes through the whole history of Muhammad's life, the Muslim Empire and what the Qu'ran and Hadith's teach.

My only problem with it is that it generally paints as Europe and the west as ignorant before Islam, and the only reason the Englightment happened was all down to Islam. It also makes note that not all Muslims believe in certain things, such as terrorism or hurting other people in anyway, but when it comes to Christians, it never makes note of this. It seems as if all the Catholics in Spain where mean and harsh towards Muslims back in the 15th century.

That is probably my only problem with it. Other than that, as I've said, it makes for an interesting read, and it did make me want to explore my spiritual side using Islam, though I haven't yet!
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2007
This book is refreshing & uncompromising, whilst not overwhelming (as most pro-Islamists are!). Emerick delivers the facts simply & eloquently. A fanstastic point of reference that frees the intelligent mind from the media scare-mongering & delivers it to a well balanced, educated conclusion to our strong, peaceful & beautiful religion.
Quite simply, the best 'introduction to Islam' book i've read. I pray this arouses your inquisitions & leads you to Him, our Creator, Inshallah
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2001
Hammudah Abdalati's "Islam in Focus" used to be the definitive guide to understanding the beliefs and practices of Islam and Muslims.
Yahya Emerick's "Complete Idiot's Guide" easily surpasses this earlier guide by employing a fresher, heavily-animated and very readable book that both the muslim and non-muslim can easily absorb at their own pace.
Finally, some writers have realised that the study of Islam in a Western context cannot be "microwaved" material but freshly cooked.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2003
As a non-Muslim, I wanted to know more about the religion and culture of Islam - something that unfortunately, few of us in the West who are not Muslims, know much about.
I found the book well-written, absorbing and factual without resorting to giving the impression that it had to convert me. As a result, after finishing it, I want to find out more about Islam, its role in history and more importantly in todays world.
A great book.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2003
I would recommend this book to anybody who is looking to find out more about Islam. The book is very easy to read, with many sayings of the Prophets, anecdotes, advices, quotes from the Holy Quran etc...
It covers all different aspects of the Islamic life being in the religious, economical, historical or social sphere.
Give it a try! You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2002
This is one of the best books on Islam ever written. It is very clear and concise, and very easy to understand for people from different backgrounds. This books helps the ignorant western reader understand Islam and what it means to be Muslim. It also provides very strong arguments and shows you what Islam is all about. On a daily basis, Islam and Muslims in Europe and the United States are harrassed by the daily propaganda of the western media, portraying muslims as terrorists. This book shows you what Islam really is: a tolerant religion, that allows minorities such as Jews and Christians, freedom to practice their own faith. And above all Peace.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2009
a must for the muslims and non muslims in order to raise awareness and understanding about the most misunderstood religion islam.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)