Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 May 2017
Loved jr, with all the twists and turns and the humour is great. Falafel and Pascoe are my favorite characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2017
Great book like all the Dalziel and Pascoe series. Book in good condition and arrived very quickly. I would recommend this seller. Many thanks, very happy. 🎉
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2011
Reginald Hill's characters, like those of all good novels, are larger than life - but they are never stereotyped. They develop, not only within each specific novel, but throughout the series, reflecting the changing attitudes of the times as well as the (wo)man's vacillating fortunes.

This is an early Dalziel and Pascoe novel, the one in which the craggy-faced Sergeant Wield comes out - with comic and tragic consequences. Some of the language would be unacceptable today, but neither Andy Dalziel nor "Wieldy" himself use the term "queer" pejoratively. Unlike a certain officer, senior to Dalziel and harbouring delusions of grandeur, who sees it as his mission to clean up the force.

The main story hinges around a rather odd lady who bequeaths her not inconsiderable fortune to someone everybody knows is dead already. But nothing in Hill's novels is ever quite what it seems....
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2015
An early book has more scatological language than later ones and certainly sets the scene for Dalziel being not politically correct. A little gem for introducing background to the later novels. Northern humour is brilliantly evoked. Denouement unexpected, a little contrived but a thoroughly good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
Reginald Hill always tells a great yarn and with the television series accompanying it - you can imagine the portly detective and his sidekick.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2016
Excellent. Would recommend and Dalziel and Pascoe although the first two in the series seem a little dated
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 1999
Good Dalziel and Pascoe novel as always, but this one gives more information about Wieldy's comming out to his bosses.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
Typical Hill convoluted interlinked subplots. Excellent long read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2016
Reginald Hill - erudite and thrilling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2010
This is a good book but I bought it thinking I had a new book to enjoy. I didn't realise that it's a re-issue of the 1987 book - same title, but I didn't spot that. I wish publishers would make it clearer when books are re-issues. I didn't notice any warning on the Amazon site either. If there were any warnings anywhere, they weren't big enough for me! ! I'll not buy quite so quickly next time!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse