Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
41
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 December 2011
Read this book years ago. Had several copies and lent them all out. Bought this for my daughter's boyfriend. A MUST read for anyone starting a new relationship with the intention of it lasting. Really helps to understand each other since God made us SOOOOOOO different.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
Books arrived rather slowly but still within the expected maximum date of delivery previously advised to me. Both books are in an excellent condition for second hand.

Totally happy customer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
this is so very true of men and women , i found myself thinking yep i do that yep he does that , it is a great insight into relationships and wish i had read it sooner as then i would have not had endless worries for nothing. relationship has deiniltey improved loads since i read this as now i understand if he's quiet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
This was a refreshing & mind - opening read! I like that he acknowledges, in the beginning, that he is generalising & we may see ourselves or our partners in either description. This helped me to have an open mind whilst reading. Excellent points, imagery & examples! Whether you work, live or both with the opposite sex, it can help see where communication can improve & also create empathy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2016
A very useful book about understanding the differences between men and women and how to consolidate them. Requires a lot of compromise and understanding for different ways of operating. It's good to be aware of these concepts but practise is hard, I find. Some of the views are a bit stereotypical and of course every person and relationship is individual and will differ slightly from another.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
It's a great book, thoroughly recommend. My top tip would be to read it through to the end before you discuss this book with your other half!! It will bring up a lot of issues that need to be handled with calm and love, not the initial negative emotions. Beware!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This easily readable book looks at the different roles of men and women as evolving from the cave days.

The book has some truth in it but can let men get away with murder as women are supposed to put up with them. Men can slack off and stare at the fire (tv) and swap hunting tales with other men (go to the pub) while women are supposed to let the elastic band stretch until they want to come back and do some more hunting and protecting.

A decent man should be offering to help raise any children. A decent man may be inclined to slack off but will offer to help around the house.

A sponger man will sponge off a woman's efforts as long as she lets him away with it - will tell lies if he wants, avoid boring housework and will hide the fact that he is interested in other women. This may well have evolved from caveman days too but somehow it doesn't get a mention in this book.

Read with care, ladies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
Some of the contents are so true. ..a bit of an insight into male thinking, some good ideas about how to approach a conversation with your partner without making them switch off! !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
For such a well known and acclaimed title this was a great disappointment. It is not completely useless, there are one or two useful tips in how to understand and treat your partner but these were fairly lightweight and can be found better expressed elsewhere. It is not well structured and I got the impression that it was basically one good idea, presented as the allegory of Mars and Venus, poorly written and stretched out to book length. The most disappointing aspect, however, was the acceptance of inconsiderate or bad behaviour within a relationship, primarily by men, as an inherent characteristic that has to be embraced. After a couple of chapters I started to wonder whether it was actually ground-breaking when it was written and its slight misogyny was a reflection of the early 1970s so I looked up when it was written and was surprised to find it was written in the early 1990s so there is really no excuse. There are plenty of good books out there which explore the fundamental differences between men and women and consider how to live with, cope with and enjoy those differences but this book is not one of them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
Every married couple or couple should read this book - You will laugh and cry but most of all learn that love is a choice that can be taught
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)