Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
22
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 November 2015
This makes for an excellent first dictionary as it covers the core vocabulary well: Not too small so as to miss too many words, nor too big so as to make it too time-consuming to find them. And not only does it offer contemporary translations but also example sentences and common phrases which demonstrate typical use. The layout, in two colours, makes the dictionary very easy to use.

If I have a criticism, it is that stresses are not indicated. I understand that to include phonetic spelling would add needless volume and complication, especially since Italian pronunciation is very regular anyway. But stresses could easily have been marked with the insertion of little strokes, at least in those words where the emphasis does not fall on the second-last syllable.

A further, minor, criticism: For some reason, the verb tables list all tenses except the past subjunctive, an incomprehensible omission, especially since its conjugations cannot be derived from others. IF you bother to add verb tables at all, they should be comprehensive.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2015
I now have the same edition in French, German and Italian, and they are all brilliant. The text is very clear, with explanations of some words and examples of how and where to use the word, and a middle section on topics such as home, travel, correspondence and work. A comprehensive list of verbs and tenses, too. Excellent value for money, too. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
I have used this format dictionary in Spainish language learning. The Italian version is equally as good.best learnig dictionary you will find, lots o very useful features.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2015
Bought this after beginning an Italian class and needed a dictionary. This is much more than that and has been very useful. It has a section on verbs, some italian phrases and the dictionary, as well as giving meanings of words, gives examples of their use in everyday speech. I am very pleased with my choice of dictionary!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2014
My Italian teacher recommended this dictionary and I'm really pleased with it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2015
I now have five or six Collins easy learning dictionaries and this is another fantastic instalment. Love the middle section with all the handy vocab.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2016
This is a really good dictionary, because for most of the words it includes sample sentences to illustrate how the word is used. This helps you to choose the right meaning. in addition, the words are colour-coded to distinguish the Italian half from the English half. There is also a section on dictionary skills, and another on verb tables.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2016
Great dictionary. Easy to use because all the text isn't crammed together and the print is clear and easily read. A brilliant replacement for the dictionary I already have.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2015
It'a nice Dictionary right for my 9 years child , suggested by the school's teachers. I reccomend it for italian children .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
Very concise and easy to follow, loved the colour coding and maps. Layout has been wellthought out and it works for me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse